My New Office

After two years of working from home, I returned to the office life this week. Everyone keeps asking me how I’m adjusting. Truth is, I am thrilled. Working from home was awesome at first, and there are certainly things about it that I will miss, but it’s really not all it’s cracked up to be. I never had the opportunity to be a lady who lunched. On the contrary, I was lucky to grab a protein bar in between meetings. I didn’t actually have time to do the laundry and prepare fabulous dinners while simultaneously checking email and managing conference calls. On the contrary, I was usually too busy to pee, let alone cook and clean. Finally, due to being on video chats all day, I never had the luxury of working in my underpants with curlers in my hair.

I work from home because I live in Virginia and my company’s main office is located on the other side of the country. Working from home was great when I was in the last few months of pregnancy and after returning to work from maternity leave. But I found that I enjoyed it less as the months went on. Friends and family would ask me how my job was going, and I heard myself saying less often “It’s so awesome! I have the best job in the universe!” and more often “It’s so awesome, except I wish I was in an office.”

So, lucky me, I have a colleague who will be working here in Virginia for up to six months, and my company was kind enough to get us an office to share while she is here. It’s twenty-five minutes down the road (super close by Virginia/DC standards) and has large windows.

The desks are stupidly large, so we decided to put one in the middle of the room and share it. The other desk will be removed this week, making plenty of room for some exercise equipment — weights, a stability ball. Right? The building also has a fitness center, and both days this week I’ve gone down there for a 20-minute jog. And, to top it all off, it’s next to a huge mall with tons of restaurants. Commerce!!!
This office thing is gonna be great. I feel like I’m part of society again. Focusing is so much easier in an office than at home. And it’s so great to have a co-worker around to chat and brainstorm with during the day. The only question now is, what will happen when the six-month lease is up? Well, there’s a good chance that my company will be hiring another person in my area pretty soon, and if that happens, we’ll get our office indefinitely. All the crappy coffee I can drink, yesss!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Office

  1. When I've worked from home, I've loved it – but always made sure I was either in the office a day or two per week, or worked from a non-home office-like space. I found that I really needed to time away from home too!

    Loving the blog design! Missed ya girl!

  2. I find that working from home is a double-edged sword – I feel more comfortable, but I'm easier distracted and usuall get less stuff done. (The other way 'round with the office.) So, I'm looking forward to having an ofice again in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

