Meal Analysis + Detox Update

I’m not usually a calorie counter, but today I was kind of curious about how I did so decided to write it up.

Breakfast

For breakfast, I had oatmeal (made with almond milk) and pb.

The oatmeal:

The almond milk (Trader Joe’s unsweetened Vanilla) – this is for 1 cup and I had 3/4 cups.

and 1 TBSP peanut butter:

Lunch

For lunch, I went to Subway and got a 6″ veggie delight.

I guess 44g of Carbs is pretty high. But it was *so good*.

Dinner

And finally, for dinner, I went to Chipotle for a vegetarian salad. Did you know that Chipotle has brown rice now? I was so excited! So it was lettuce, brown rice, black beans, fajita veggies, tomato salsa, and corn salsa. Delicious. I ate half so it was about 7g protein, 34g carbs, and 3g fat. And about a year’s worth of sodium.

So for my main meals today, I had 24g protein, 23g fat, and 82g carbs. The percentages there are 47% carbs, 30% fat and 14% protein. So it’s actually pretty typical for me, too much fat compared to protein.

Detox

I’ve gotten some questions about how my detox went. I tell you now, I was not perfect on the no-dairy and no-gluten but I cut way back. I still had cream in my coffee, but I didn’t eat any yogurt or drink any milk. I had bread with my sandwich today and nibbled on crackers here and there, but for the most part replaced bread and wheat with brown rice.

I’ve found that I’m not very good with avoiding things but I am pretty good with making sure that I *do* certain things. So rather than focus on what I can’t or shouldn’t be eating, I think about what I *should* be eating. As such, I’ve been eating huge portions of veggies with most meals (until yesterday when I ran out). Every day I steam up broccoli or spinach to have with lunch. By doing that, it automatically encourages me to eat better. Also, I’ve been trying to eat only lean meats. And I have hardly had any sugar at all, which is a MIRACLE. I still put sugar in my coffee, and I did sneak a few Oreos the other night. But for the most part, I have not had any sweets or treats in a week!!!

In addition to that, I have been taking a multivitamin, a calcium + D3, and probiotics every day. I also drank one water with Airborne every day until it ran out (probably about 10 days worth?). I am feeling so much better. I have two trips coming up, one of which requires air travel, so I need to make sure I keep up with this and keep my body strong. When my air travel trip comes up, I’m going to take Airborne a few days before, during, and a few days after, for an extra immune system boost.

So, any feedback on my meals or my detox? Anyone like me find it much easier to *do* certain things rather than think about *not doing* certain things?

 

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Meal Analysis + Detox Update

  1. Hannah says:

    I think it generally works better in all aspects of life to focus on the positive aspects, the things that you can do (not just eat), than the negative and what you can’t. Which is not to say that it’s always possible to be a Positive Polly, but I’m glad that aiming for that has helped you 🙂 🙂

  2. lindsay says:

    i think its good youre examing your diet. Taking a closer look again. Pump up that protein when you can!
    p.s.
    Maybe you can make protein oreos, haha.

  3. Allie says:

    Good job analyzing your diet and wanting to make changes 🙂

  4. I am the same way when it comes to food. If I tell myself I can’t have something that is all I want. I like the approach of making sure you “do” eat certain foods.

  5. Missy says:

    I like the change of focus…
    It’s not what you can’t have it’s about what you can have!

  6. I think you’re right about the whole adding veggies to every meal no matter what thing- I added broccoli as a side to my chicken nacho dinner last night. It totally didn’t match at all, but I ate a much more respectable amount than what I would have done (gorged on the cheesy deliciousness).

  7. Laurajayne says:

    I love the idea of “doing” and not restricting! I think that’s how I started to approach a gluten-free diet and it worked so much better for me! Dieting never worked – even at my heaviest, I knew that if I started thinking about what I couldn’t have, I’d never stay with it!

  8. I’m on Day 20 of a 21-day “no sugar, no gluten, no soy, no alcohol” phase (I wouldn’t call it a “detox” as much as an “experiment”). I barely had to think of it at all, actually, because I was never hungry. I think when the “don’t” leads you to be hungry, it saps your energy… and it’s brutal.

    So how did you *feel* with all this?

  9. Kate says:

    Interesting! Nice job with the no sugar- I pretty much exclusively eat sugar, so it would be hard for me to give it up, haha. If someone tells me I can’t have something, I want it even more!

Leave a Reply

