Football, I Love You. No, Really. I Do.

 

I’ve been hopping out of bed in the mornings with a smile on my face (okay okay, that may be a slight massive exaggeration). But seriously, mornings are better drinking this:

out of my happy mug.

I sort of like pumpkin. I like pumpkin coffee. I like pumpkin pie. Pumpkin bread. Pumpkin-scented candles. Pumpkin quinoa muffins. But I just can’t seem to figure out pumpkin oatmeal. I tried cooking up some oatmeal and adding 1/2 cup pumpkin to it, along with some cinnamon. Bleck. I tried making pumpkin overnight oats. Bleck. I absolutely need to figure this out soon. It’s been fall for three days already, and I want to enjoy every single day of this wonderful pumpkin season!

So I beg you. Share. What do you do with pumpkin? How do you make pumpkin oatmeal? What else do you do with it? I have a new can and am so excited to bust it open and make all sorts of pumpkin deliciousness.

Speaking of football… (were we?)  Are you a fan? I have never been a fan of football. Nothing about it really catches my attention. My husband, on the other hand, quite loves it. I’ve made an attempt to like it in the past, but after a week or two, I’m over it. So here I am, mother of two, wife of one, realizing that the time is now. Be with them or against them. Join in or spend Sundays alone. So for the roughly eleventh time, I am trying to learn to like football.

One major problem is that my husband is a huge New York Giants fan. We live in Washington, D.C. The Giants and the Washington Redskins are huge rivals. So, I can’t like the Redskins. As someone who went twenty sixteen years not watching football and entered into a marriage as a non-football fan, it would be silly for me to pick a team that would cause marital discord. And yet, I don’t really want to be a Giants fan. Nothing against them, I just generally don’t like New York sports teams (DOWN with the Mets and Yankees — go Nationals! DOWN with the Rangers — go Caps!!!) so it feels weird to root for a New York team. Plus, I’m not too keen on rooting for a team that is a huge rival of the local team. I’d like to wear my football team shirt with pride without having people hiss at me. So, I needed to find me somebody to love.

The Giants are in the NFC. So, my best bet is to pick a team in the AFC. (For those of you non-football fans, the NFC and AFC are the two divisions in football. Rivalries tend to be within divisions. So, by picking an AFC team, I don’t have to root against my husband’s beloved Giants.)

So, I found myself a team to love root for. The Denver Broncos. AFC — check. Plus, my company’s biggest office is in Denver, so it’s not completely random. Also, they stink. I find it fun to root for a team that stinks. (Go Duke Football!!!)

So, here I am. The Denver Broncos’ newest diehard fan. Now I just need to get me a shirt.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Football, I Love You. No, Really. I Do.

  1. Haha I think every wife can relate to this post, although my husband did patiently teach me about football so at least I can cheer in the right places now!

    As far as how long we’ll be in the Caribbean, we’ll be here until December of 2013, at which point hubs will be finished with the first half of medical school and then he will move on to do hospital rotations back in the US for the last two years.

    We’re going to come home to visit next summer, but other than that, this is our new home. Still getting used to it!!!

    xoxo
    Cat

  2. I’m a bandwagon fan. I like the Steelers because Pittsburgh is my home, but I only become a fan when they do really well. 🙂

    When I make pumpkin oatmeal or overnight oats, I always add cinnamon and allspice to the mix, along with whatever sweetener you are using. It gives it that real pumpkin pie taste. 🙂

  3. Hannah says:

    Oh, could you please come and keep my dad company? He loves and watches all the American football games in this series, but not one of us will watch with him 😛

  4. lindsay says:

    thats too funny! I say you forget football and become a New Zealand All Blacks Rugby fan!

  5. Becca says:

    I just… dont love pumpkin. There I said it! bad blogger! ahahah

  6. Allie says:

    I got to watch the Titans beat the Broncos on Sunday–fabbo game, and you know I had to root for my state’s team. Wooo, Titans 😀

  7. I got some Godiva Pumpkin Spice coffee to try out in the mail and was seriously disappointed. I like pumpkin flavored stuff- but this I could not handle! What gives???

    I gave it to a coworker and moved on with my life…. 😦

  8. Missy says:

    If I happen to be eating yogurt I mix some in my plain yogurt with splenda and cinnamon….then I slice up apples. Nuke them so they are maleable, warm and soft…and then dip them in the yogurt or drizzle th eyogurt on them.
    I also have made a pumpkin black bean soup <–!!!
    I am planning on spooning pumpkin into ice cube trays and making a smoothie by using the frozen cubes and almond milk (and sweetener naturally).

    No suggestions about the oatmeal though.

  9. Allie says:

    I never eat oatmeal so I wish I could help ya!!

  10. Pumpkin is my all time favorite food, but I don’t really like it stirred into oatmeal either! The only way I like it with oatmeal is to cook the oats plain and put them on one side of a huge bowl, and put cold pumpkin and cold yogurt on the other side. Dip your spoon in each flavor- it’s delicious!

  11. Ana says:

    My husband is from California, but is a BIG fan of the Packers (his dad is from Wisconsin). So, being from Brazil and not having a team, I decided to cheer for the Packers as well. You know, it’s better to be with the “enemy” when you can’t beat it. So now, I invite other husbands and wives in the same situation… We all watch the games and everybody has fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

