Five.

Do you know what I was doing this time five years ago? I was in the hospital, staring down at this:

My beautiful baby...

That’s my little J-Man. I don’t tell you too much about him, and I don’t share his photos, due to privacy concerns, but seriously? How beautiful is that?

It was a Sunday. August 6, 2006. I was nine months pregnant, and my baby was due in a week. It was going to be the longest week of my life. I was uncomfortable (understatement of the year) and couldn’t wait to meet the little person that had been growing inside of me.

My husband and I met my parents for brunch at one of our favorite local restaurants. The food was great, but I just wasn’t feeling it. I couldn’t get comfortable in my chair. I felt as big as a house. I just wanted to go home and lay on the couch. We got home, and I started feeling really crummy. Then I felt crummy again. Then again. All of a sudden it dawned on me, these are contractions! I am going into labor!

Now, when you take childbirth classes, you learn that when you start going into labor you probably want to eat a good meal, take a long shower, and maybe get a nap in. You’re supposed to call the doctor when you’ve been having contractions five minutes apart for at least an hour. In other words, the contractions should start out far apart then gradually get more frequent. When they are consistently frequent, you go to the hospital.

Let me tell you right now, future moms. Forget what you read in books about how labor is supposedΒ to go.

(Also, while I’m at it, don’t wait until you are in labor to pack for the hospital. Or to install the baby’s carseat. Not that I would know.)

I started having contractions and they were about 10 minutes apart for a half an hour, then 5 minutes apart for about fifteen minutes, then 3 minutes apart… Β Um?

It was a Sunday, which meant I had to call the on-call doctor instead of my own OB/GYN. I was crushedΒ to find out neither of my doctors was on call that day. The doctor who answered sounded less than thrilled that her Sunday was being rudely interrupted by the creation of life. She told me to call back when my contractions had been five minutes apart for an hour. I started to cry. Then she sounded a little bit nicer and said I could head to the hospital if I wasn’t sure.

Off we went.

Good thing we did.

At 7 P.M., after less than six hours of labor, J-Man was born.

It’s impossible to really express the love one has for their children. It’s a little hand reaching out to grab onto mine. It’s running to me for a hug and kiss after falling down. It’s asking me to lay down with him for a few minutes before leaving him at night. It’s having him look at me today and say “Mom, that was the best birthday party I’ve ever had.”

This entry was posted in children, family. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Five.

  1. lindsay says:

    i love this story christine! what a little miracle! give him a huge hug for me.
    πŸ™‚

  2. so incredibly beautiful – both the story and the photos – happy birthday to J, and happy birth day to Mama! ❀

  3. Bonnie says:

    Wow…what a beautiful story, Christine! Thanks for sharing, and happy birthday to J Man! πŸ˜€

  4. Allie says:

    LOVE this!! J-Man is so cute and has one special mama πŸ™‚ !!!

  5. Ana F. says:

    Beautiful baby! Glad the doctor was nicer to you. I think I’d cry too. Thanks for the labor tips haha πŸ™‚

  6. 5 is such a fun age! What a cutie, then and now! Congrats!

  7. Hannah says:

    Having just spent time with my friend Robyn and her new baby, and being able to almost physically “see” the love threading them together, this post of yours was beautiful to read. I can only hope that, one day, I might finally be able to experience a relationship and, eventually, a child. xo

  8. He is so cute! I’m not going to lie- some newborns (like myself) just come out looking weird, but your boy is absolutely adorable πŸ™‚ Happy birthday to J-man!

  9. I don’t want to think about how fast time goes with kids! It’s hitting me hard this week thinking about M starting preschool in a week!

  10. Missy says:

    J-Man was just as eager to see you as you were to meet him.

    He got a running start and probably hasn’t stopped since, huh?

  11. LauraJayne says:

    How totally beautiful – you must be so proud!

  12. Aww. πŸ˜€

    Thank you so much for sharing! This brought a big smile to my face. πŸ™‚

  13. Rach says:

    Awwww this is so precious! Happy birthday to your little guy!

  14. What a lovely little story.

    Something I’ve learned the hard way over the years is that you ALWAYS need to follow your gut feelings. Good thing you went to the hospital when you did! πŸ™‚

    ~

  15. OMG your baby was (is still I am sure) gorgeous. Normally I see kids coming out all red and squishy faced but your baby is sooo peaceful looking!!

  16. Awww love this post! I can’t believe how perfect and rosy your little J-man is..so cute!

    And I’m already preparing myself for the ‘unexpectedness’ of labor and all that entails. Yikes!

  17. Pingback: Darth Vader and the E.R. | Merf In Progress

  18. Panda says:

    Yeah, the standard pregnancy books really are not helpful at all! Happy bday to your little man!

Leave a Reply

