One Of Those Days

Today was one of those days. Do you ever have one of those days? One of those days where you just think, will I ever get it right? One of those days where you think, the day isn’t done yet, what else can go wrong?

I had four notable fails today. Luckily, none of them was significant enough to cause injury to anything but my sanity.

FAIL #1: The day began, as always, with a cup of hot brewed coffee from my beloved Keurig coffee maker. I put my K-cup in, hit the brew button, and set about making my breakfast. When I went to get my coffee… what the? … IT WASN’T THERE. After ruling out the possibility that a garden gnome had snuck into the kitchen and swiped my coffee, I discovered that I had forgotten to place a mug under the machine, and my coffee had brewed straight into the drip catcher. Thankfully (and I bet not coincidentally), the drip catcher is just big enough to hold an entire cup of coffee. (It should also be noted that the Keurig was intended to solve my not infrequent coffee fail issues.)

FAIL #2: I decided to make a crock-pot shredded pork meal for dinner. The crock pot has a freakishly short cord, so I have to push my kitchen table against the wall in order to plug the crock pot in. The crock pot has an insert that pops out for easy clean-up. I decided it would be a brilliant idea to bring the insert over to the countertop to put the food in it, so any drips would be on the counter and not on the kitchen table. So I put the insert on the kitchen counter, got the pork out of the fridge, walked over to the kitchen table, and dumped the pork straight into the insert-less crock pot. Double doh. It leaked right through the pot all over the table, then as I carried the whole thing to the counter, it dripped all across the kitchen floor. So much for my master plan of confining any stray drips to the countertop!!!

FAIL #3: I gave myself a pedicure (bright red!) then about five minutes later decided it was a good time to put my socks and tennis shoes on and go for a run. When I got back and my socks were stuck to my toes, I remembered the pedicure. Clearly I need to not paint my toenails in the morning before work — or before running. Sigh.

FAIL #4: And finally, my final fail of the day (err, so far?). At dinner, my son asked if he could have more milk. I gave it to him.


Yep. Poured the milk right into his bowl of peas.

It was that kind of day.

This entry was posted in fail, laugh and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to One Of Those Days

  1. Hmmm – did he eat the peas and milk? Toddlers are weird little things – you never know what they’ll like! 😉
    I’ve had days like that, too. They’re the worst. But the good thing is that tomorrow HAS to be better because it certainly can’t be any worse. 🙂 Wishing you a happy Wednesday!

    • Christine says:

      I didn’t even give him the choice to eat it. Haha! I think he was thrilled with his luck. No peas!!!

  2. lindsay says:

    haha, I thought that was some kind of new SUPER GREEN cereal. glad i was wrong, but sorry about your day.
    😦

  3. Sarah says:

    I have been foiled by many a pedicure as well. Today I went to put the folded clean towels in the fridge. Much better than milk and peas!

  4. Hannah says:

    Peamilk! I’m sure it’ll be the nesxt big health craze. I mean, we have green smoothies, so really you just need to add banana and blend for deliciousness 😉

    (OMG I’m so making a pea smoothie when the weather is warmer here…)

  5. I’ve always thought that peas would be far more palatable if they included a lot of calcium. 🙂 I hated peas growing up but was forced to eat them (thanks, Mom!), so I used to take them like pills on the back of my tongue with milk. I had repressed that memory until seeing this post.

    PS: I hope you drank your coffee from the drip tray… 😉

  6. Allie says:

    Oh jeez!!! What a day… The other day I stepped in dog poop, studdered like 5,000 times, and my dog got loose on her walk. It was cray cray.

  7. becca says:

    I have SO been there!!!! lol

    I found myself putting my salt free seasoning in the frdige this morning instead of my jam… I almost left it until i realized “if you do that, you are going to go nuts lookign for that bottle at 9 tonight when you need it” ahaha

  8. Well- the important thing is you saved your coffee. And the pulled pork. 😉

    Is it a coincidence these things happened on a Tuesday? I think not!

  9. Aw, I’m so sorry. And, I totally feel your pain. This is me pretty much every day of the week. Sometimes I really worry about what my brain is going to be like when I’m 70! Yeesh. I’m glad none of them were too detrimental to your health, though:).

    • Christine says:

      We’ll probably be brilliant and on top of everything when we’re 70! When everyone else is losing their minds, we’ll just be figuring it all out 😉

  10. I know that kind of days very well. At least you have something to laugh about, in retrospective. 😉

    *hugs*

  11. The last one was pretty funny 😉

    I’m having one of those days and I’ve noticed others have been too this week…is it the moon? the air? something telling us to stay in bed all day?

    Hopefully the days improve!

    • Christine says:

      Good thing it’s a new week. Here’s to keeping our heads on straight this week! Hope you’re feeling great and enjoying pregnancy!

  12. Missy says:

    Just think of it as a case of Vacation Brain…

    Plus I bet you did 1, 865 things AWESOME today. Just ask the kids. (0:
    And you did 1,839 of those things naturally just because you’re YOU and you’re AWESOME.

    PS- The two of us could be VERY dangerous together. Being absent-minded is a beautiful thing. (0:

  13. Bonnie says:

    Wow! What a day…I’m sorry to say that the last photo and story made me chuckle…we don’t have any kids but I can only imagine how normal that is. 😉 Hope tomorrow flows a little smoother, but thanks for sharing “one of those days” – we all have ’em. 😉

  14. Grace says:

    Aww I hope today was better! Just remember we all have “those days.”

  15. haha, literally laughed about pouring milk onto peas – how crazy! Hope your day tomorrow goes much more smoothly!

  16. No injury to anything but your sanity…I might have to adopt that phrase! 🙂

Leave a Reply

