Treading Water

Good evening! I don’t have much time, because I am sleepy, it’s late, and I want to read a little bit more of the Patricia Cornwell book that is on my nightstand, since it has to go back to the library on Saturday.  But I did want to continue my thought process from last night.

To start us off, this is for the kind words about me, my blog, and our friendship.

I am sorry if you do not actually have curly yellow hair. I am also sorry that you have a dislocated hip.

Also, let me clear up a couple of points from last night. I’m not concerned about my blog’s identity in the blog world. It’s my blog, I say what I need to say, I love that there are some people out there who dig it, and our bloggy friendship means a lot.

My blog doesn’t lack identity or purpose. I consider this a “healthy living” blog because a healthy body and a healthy mind and a healthy soul and a healthy family are inextricably intertwined. My issue with my blog right now is that it isn’t serving its purpose. (poor blog, it’s not your fault, it’s mine!) My blog is called “Merf In Progress” because I want to make sure my life is always progressing — that I enjoy life, that I raise amazing children, that I nurture my marriage, that I’m healthy, that my family is healthy. I want to make sure my blog focuses on that above all — is my life progressing? Am I stuck?

Right now, I feel like I am treading water. I look at myself, my daily routine, my home, and I feel like I’m making no progress. Every time I walk down the hall, I see the messy piles of junk, the unfiled papers, the photos that need framing, the pictures that need hanging. But for some reason, I don’t organize, file, frame, and hang. I just notice them, let them bother me, and move on.

One thing I know is that there is no point complaining about things and taking no action.

If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.
-Maya Angelou

That’s enough for one night. Stay tuned for the continuation of this stream of consciousness. xo

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Treading Water

  1. I think it’s a beautiful thing when we can admit to our imperfections. I don’t think it means you haven’t progressed at all. I’m the same exact way – I look around everyday and notice the 800 things I need to do, but I just let them bother me and never actually do anything about it! But what are the most important things? Easily your husband, your children, and yourself. If you’re taking care of those things and being the best wife/Mom/self you can be, then you can’t really ask for or do much more. When things start to bother me, I often let them pile up and then they overwhelm me to the point where I’m really stressed. So my very wise hubby suggests that I tackle ONE thing a week – just ONE. Maybe that means I clean/organize the closet one week and hang some pictures up the next. It makes the tasks seem so much more manageable when you break them down into little mini ones. Hang in there! I think you’re great and I do have blonde hair. My hip flexor also hurts quite a bit, so that might actually be me in that pic. 🙂

    • Christine says:

      The “do one thing” rule is a really good one. My rule is more like “for Heaven’s sake, just do SOMETHING”. 🙂

  2. I actually feel like I’ve hit a little rut with my blog. I feel like I have so much I want to share but hardly any if it is really meaningful. I think I just need to focus on my life and living each day – then posts will follow. Enjoy your book and good night! 🙂

  3. Deb says:

    I love both that image and its caption! My Friday morning was already off to a good start, but that’s just cinched it.

    😀 = me

    Your point about complaining and taking no action resonates with me. My early life was filled with lots of complaining tied to very little action, so that I resolved complaining would always serve as a sort of highlighter for the fact something in my life had to change.

    I’ve been pretty good about it so far, but I’ve seen that sometimes it takes me a little while to translate the intention to action. I think that’s probably a function of just how busy life is. I don’t see it as a failure, because each increment by which that dissatisfaction grows is part of what it takes to push us toward something more satisfying.

    This not-curly-yellow-haired person is really looking forward to reading more on this.

    • Christine says:

      You’re right that it’s just how life is. I need to stop being so hard on myself and just make sure I’m taking action.

  4. That’s hilarious! Can I be the ponytailed brunette? 🙂

    Here’s my Q for you: why must progress be constant? Can’t it come piecemeal?

    I think it’s good to be dissatisfied about things that, on any given day, might not change because it means that you are still working toward change. Complacency is the killer—and maybe if you complain once, twice, three times… (or more) then comes the tipping point and a bigger change is adopted!

    Well, it’s worked for me, anyway, so I just don’t see failure or error in your current situation. Onward and upward!

    • Christine says:

      Two great points. First, you’re right, progress doesn’t have to be constant. After all, we all need consistency and stability in our lives. Second, the idea that eventually I will get tired of being bothered by something and take some action! I just need to get to that point a little bit quicker.

      • For me, how quickly or slowly I *finally* get around to doing something depends on two things: exhaustion, and multi-tasking. The more sleep I’m getting, the more up for change I feel, and the smaller the number of things I have on the go at once, the more likely I am to take up something else. I used to get really down on myself and I think “I did it faster / better before!”, and now I think, like Teddy Roosevelt “do what you can with what you have”… best advice ever!

  5. Kelsey says:

    you might be making progress, but often it’s hard to see it until you look back and realize where you were and how far you’ve come. frankly, even THINKING about making changes is a step in the right direction! be patient and don’t be so hard on yourself–because you’re awesome, honest, funny, and are doing your very best!

    Which, of course, is all easier said than done! I can so relate to feeling like you’re getting nowhere. But it’s important to remind ourselves that change takes time (and even involves set-backs). Just keep doing your thing :). It’s not about seeking/obtaining perfection; it’s about heading in the right direction.

  6. Great quote! It’s a classic for a reason.

  7. I always tell myself when something gets to the point where it bothers me enough, then I will take action. Until then it obviously doesn’t bother me enough or I would do something about it!

    • Christine says:

      Yes, except when it actually does bother you enough but you still don’t do anything except let it eat you alive. The fact that you don’t get to this point is excellent!

  8. Baking 'n' Books says:

    WHOA – so did you enter my mind and read all of my thoughts??? Because BINGO this is sooooo what I’ve been thinking of lately….all of it – with the blog, purpose…definitely, definitely with no DOING stuff.

    Just an hour ago – looking at my bookshelves and boxes still unorganized and unpacked; recipe books that I want to actually write out and pick out a plan and MAKE them – but instead resort to “same old, same old”; yoga mat on the floor…um, no yoga…sitting on chair on butt…getting sore. So leave and go waste more time! Ugh.

    I feel ya and am looking forward to the continuation of this thought big-time…

  9. Meri says:

    I switched over to my own hosted site from blogger to wordpress about a week ago, and it has given me a bit of a blog identity crisis as well! Although its more because I feel like I’m going to lose blog friendships if people don’t find my new site. Hang in there and I think your “voice” on your blog will become more and more clear 🙂

  10. Allie says:

    You are awesome and I like the dislocated hip picture LOL! I can totally relate to not progressing but not really trying. I hate that feeling! At least you know what you want to do with your blog and how you want to get there 🙂

    • Christine says:

      My drawing probably looked most like you out of all my bloggy friends. Except I should have made the hair longer. 🙂

  11. I think that by admitting that there are still tons of things that aren’t done yet, that’s a form of progress in itself! At the minimum, it’s the first step. I really enjoy your blog because of your honesty and realness! 🙂

    • Christine says:

      Thank you, Sophia. I’ve always liked your blog, but now that I know you’re a super geek, I like it even more! You’re a geek in disguise! An undercover geek!

  12. Well, I believe progress doesn’t go linearly, but rather in leaps, with plateaus in between. Look back to when you started your blog – it hasn’t been too long! – and then look at where you are now: I think you have achieved A LOT uring these past months! From being rather unaware of healthy living, you have turned into smoothie and overnight oats expert, home cooking mom, Merf-to-5K-challenger, and meaningful (as well as self-hosted ;)) part of the blog world. You blog is flourishing quite a lot! So it’s normal that it doesn’t always go like this, and please don’t stress yourself too much about it! Perhaps establishing the things you’ve achieved is a good idea for now, and since you don’t seem like somebody who’s satisfied with a level below her potential, you’ll go on anyway. 🙂

  13. LauraJayne says:

    I have been thinking that you ARE making progress – learning about what you struggle with and what is important to you! Plus, you help me to make progress too!

    I understand, though, you want to feel like you are growing as well! I’m glad that blogging (and reading your old posts) is helping you to see that!

  14. Jeannie says:

    Don’t feel like I have been making much progress lately either. Have ambitions to get so many things done but limited time leaves me feeling like I am getting nothing done.

  15. Tina says:

    Admin – I’ve checked out http://www.merfinprogress.com/2011/06/treading-water and I really like your writing style like in your post Treading Water | Merf In Progress. I am looking for blog authors who would like to write articles as either a full time job or part time job (for some extra money). I think your writing style would work very well. You receive pay per article, anywhere from $5 to $50 per article depending on the topic, article length, etc… If interested you can find more information at http://www.OnlineHomeWriter.net. Have a good day – Tina

Leave a Reply

