Vegas DO’s and DO NOT’s

DO take the early-a$$ flight out of D.C. so you arrive in Vegas by noon on Friday. DO take a long nap upon arriving (assuming there was turbulence and you took two Xanax on the flight).

DO kick it old school and stay downtown…

DO meet your friends atย Binion’s Steakhouse for dinner.

DO order a dirty martini…

DO order the NY Steak with blue cheese crust. DO NOT order the Chicken Fried Lobster, no matter how intriguing it is, unless you want to spend $50 on something that tastes exactly like a gargantuan fried shrimp.

DO make sure some of your friends get the two-story spa suite for evening shenanigans…

DO note that the coffee table has a glass top. DO note that glass breaks.

DO NOT dance on said table. (This should read, DO NOT cheer on the four women who were dancing on said table.)

DO rock a new dress…

On Saturday, DO spend the entire day at the pool. Get a couple of cabanas…

and a couple of daybeds…

by the adults-only “infinity” pool…

DO not spend more than ten minutes in the sun…

DO spend five hours in the cabana reading…

DO head over to Gold & Silver Pawn, the store from The History Channel’s Pawn Stars.

DO NOT…

DO NOT buy the Chumlee water bottle…

DO head to the Wynn…

to see Le Reve (which I highly recommend, but we decided should be renamed “Le L.S.D.”)

And even though it’s 4 miles from your hotel, DO travel in style…

Oh, one more thing… on your last night in Vegas, DO NOT loseย all your money playing blackjack.

This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Vegas DO’s and DO NOT’s

  1. Looks like so much fun!!

    We love Pawn Stars, ha.

    • Christine says:

      I’ve only seen it a couple of times, but my husband loves it. It’s a neat concept for a show. Better than a show about parking tickets, anyways.

  2. I woulda bought that water bottle ๐Ÿ˜‰

    looks like SO much fun – that suite is amazing!

    • Christine says:

      The suite was beautiful, with a wonderful view of downtown. And yeah, one can never have too many water bottles right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh, those typewriters… just askin’ for it! I can hardly keep up with all your travel—and boy, DO you DO Vegas in style!

  4. lindsay says:

    dang lady, your hot! I need to come travel with you to vegas. Look fun!

  5. Looks like you had a blast in Vegas!! I’ve never been, but would love to go sometime!

    • Christine says:

      I really like Vegas. It’s affordable, the weather is nice, there are awesome food options… Plus I love blackjack! (which can make Vegas less affordable if you have bad luck!)

  6. Missy says:

    So glad you had what appears to be an awesome time.
    Ps- Cute dress
    Pps- You need to teach B Spears and Lohan how to exit a limo with class.
    PPPS – The dancing in the last post remins me of my friends. We are like that — we’re gonna dance and we just don’t give a what.
    As long as it’s not lewd? I love it.

    • Christine says:

      Yeah, I couldn’t decide whether the dancing was a DO or DO NOT! I mean, they were having a blast, and everyone was loving watching them. I admit, I was filming it because I was certain she was going to fall on her face. She was plastered.

  7. Haha, did you break a glass coffee table? I was at a party at a friend’s house a few years ago and had a little too much to drink, and when I tried to get up off the ground I used his glass coffee table as a crutch and the whole top came flying up- I very nearly broke it!

    • Christine says:

      Me? Innocent little me? I admit, I had nothing to do with the broken table, but that’s mostly because there were four women dancing on it and no room for me!

  8. I want to go there and DO all that now!! (The DOs, not the DON’Ts, that is … but I don’t dance on glass tables anyway. ;))

  9. Love this post! What a great trip! That is SOOOO awesome you went to the Pawn Stars shop. I can’t believe they sell Chumlee merchandise, haha.

    • Christine says:

      Yes, Chumlee’s face is everywhere in that store. And the old man. No one seems to care about the other dude(s).

  10. Kelly says:

    I haven’t ever been to Vegas! I want to go so badly!!

  11. Love this post… hilarious! Looks like you had a fantastic time.
    I’ve never been to Vegas… it’s on “the list”, but not in the Top 10. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And yes, doesn’t everyone learn not to dance on glass-topped tables in college?!? ha,ha.

    ~

    • Christine says:

      Vegas is just so easy. No planning necessary. Hotels are reasonable, and you figure out what you want to do when you get there. It’s nice for a non-planner like me.

  12. Ok, missy. And you said your trip would be way different than mine…

    – First off, we did not break things. Sounds like rebel shenanigans if I’ve ever heard it… jk
    – Limos with a large group just make sense. Done and done.
    – Cabanas with a large group also make sense. Check!
    – I’m glad you had an AWESOME trip!

    Now… how long did it take for you to recover? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. Rach says:

    Looks like you have had so much fun!!

  14. Hannah says:

    So m any gorgeous outfits! You look absolutely beautiful, my friend ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Allie says:

    That hotel suite is amazing–and the pool! Gah! And I really think ALL Cirque shows need to be renamed to that…Thanks for the fabulous Vegas dos and don’ts, need a trip of my there SOME day.

    P.S.–How was Hunger Games? It’s on my own to-read list ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Christine says:

      I got sucked into Hunger Games and couldn’t put it down. I’d give it a B+. It’s a combination of old themes (post-apocalyptic dictatorial government, gladiator, coming of age, etc) so not completely original, but interesting and enjoyable. Pretty good characters. I plan to read the next one in the series.

  16. wow I am super jealous!!! you look like you had an amazing vacay!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. omg, sounds like so much fun (minus the loosing all your money part!) How baller that your friends got the 2-story suite! That’s awesome!

  18. Now *that* is the way to do Vegas in style. I’m in love with that suite, and the pool, and seeing La Reve. Next time invite me, k?

  19. WOW, what a great trip!!! The hubs and I are hoping to make a trip out to Vegas this winter. We’ve never been!!

  20. Stephanie says:

    Looks like an amazing time! I laughed out loud when I saw the picture of the typewriters.

  21. I.Am.So.Jealous!!!! I loooove Vegas! It is seriously the happiest place on earth! Looks like you did it in style too, geesh! That hotel room looks amazing!!!

  22. Looks like SUCH a fun vacation! My roommate is in Vegas right now – I’ll have to tell her some of your tips :).

Leave a Reply

