Colorado, Seattle, and a Run Through Charlotte

After Wednesday’s barefoot running in the sleet-rain-slush-tornado weather, I was eager to hop on a plane to Seattle, Washington, Thursday morning. Three of my coworkers and I headed there for an afternoon business meeting in Redmond. We landed in Seattle, got our rental SUV, drove to Redmond, had lunch, had a three hour meeting, drove back to Seattle, had dinner, then less than twelve hours after arriving in Seattle, it was wheels up on the red-eye back to DC.

Before departing, the person we were in town to meet with suggested we grab dinner at Lola, which is a Tom Douglas restaurant. Tom Douglas is a restauranteur in Seattle, who defeated Masaharu Morimoto on Iron Chef America. The mediterranean-style Lola is a true haven for a budding foodie.

I only had my iphone on me (yeah, not going to bust out the big camera to take food pictures at a business dinner), so these pictures do NOT do the food justice. It was spectacular.

One of our appetizers: kebabs with halloumi cheese, fig, and fig balsamic. UNBELIEVABLE.

One of my coworkers’ meal — chickpea fritters, tabouleh salad, tahini sauce, and flatbread:

My meal, which tasted better than it looks — half a dungeness crab:

Everything at this place was delicious. If you ever happen to find yourself in Seattle, do yourself a favor and eat at Lola.

I hate taking red-eyes, but it is totally worth it to me to get back to my children faster. Plus, it gives me the opportunity to rest a bit before the weekend. The flight was uneventful, but I wasn’t able to sleep. I had a stop in Charlotte with less than an hour to change planes. Since our flight from Seattle arrived 16 minutes late, I knew there was very little chance I was going to make my connecting flight, but the flight attendants said we should run for it. So I did. And of course, Merfy’s Law, the gates were as far apart as possible.

I ran, with my carry-on baggage, from gate B12 (1) to gate E22 (2). I got there to find out they’d closed the plane and I’d have to take the next flight to DC, which was boarding in five minutes from gate C16 (3). Run run run!

See the pink dot? That’s Jamba Juice, which I had to run by not once, but twice, unable to stop. So depressing. I had to settle for this:

And after all that, my second flight was delayed by an hour because they needed to change the filters in the smoke detectors. Yeah.

By the time I arrived in DC, I’d been awake for 26 hours. I was feeling somewhat delirious, and my feet were bleeding and blistered from all the running. My cute cheetah-print flats are not meant for running. I got home, watched the American Idol results show on the DVR to see who got eliminated, and went to sleep for the rest of the day.

Tonight, we went to Unos for dinner and sat outside on the patio since it was so beautiful out. I had a fig, broccoli, and goat cheese pizza on five-grain crust. I’m all into figs now after my fig kebabs at Lola!

We especially love the mini desserts at Uno. I got the Mini Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup, and my husband got the Mini Macadamia Nut White Chocolate Chunk Deep Dish Cookie Sundae.

Mini Macadamia Nut White Chocolate Chunk Deep Dish Cookie Sundae

Mini Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup

Good grief, I just looked up the nutritional information, and these “mini” desserts are over 300 calories and 22 grams of fat. I feel less awesome about this now. But it was really yummy. 😉

Now, I have a terrible headache, probably due to disrupted sleep, long flights, and changing altitudes. Time to get some sleep so I’m ready for the typical soccer-game and birthday-party filled weekend!!!

This entry was posted in eat, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Colorado, Seattle, and a Run Through Charlotte

  1. oh my goodness the crab, kebob, and pizza are all making me drool! 🙂

    I worked at Uno’s years back and I don’t remember them having that awesome fig pizza, yum! I hope you get a good nights sleep after such a tough week! 🙂

  2. Very cool! Makes me hungry. I think I *am* hungry.

    And now I want crab, even though I’m allergic. I say, that’s an iPhoto well taken!

    Feel better soon!

  3. Hannah says:

    Those are iPhone photos?!?! Oh my heavens! They’re so much better than my stupid dying point-and-click’s photos!

    Also, those desserts want to be in my life I can almost hear them buying plane tickets to Australia. 300 calories isn’t much, though? Unless they were *super* tiny…

  4. lindsay says:

    holy cow I want that crab dish, yum!! gets some rest and enjoy family time this weekend!

  5. Allie says:

    Merfy’s law hahah. That IS crazy how much airport running you had to do! I could never stay awake for 26 hours. You are a CHAMP!

    Your eats. omg. I have been wanting to go to Lola sooo bad. I am SERIOUSLY jealous.

    Have a great weekend !

  6. Kelsey says:

    mmm that pizza looks so delicious!!

    hope you’re having a great weekend–and you get SOME time to relax 🙂

  7. Ugh, I always have the WORST traveling luck so it sounds like a typical travel day of mine! Last time I flew (a couple months ago) was to Canada for a conference and the flight left from an airport an hour and a half away and at 8am. Got up at butt crack of dawn and car-pooled with a co-worker. Once I got there I discovered that I’d accidentally grabbed my husband’s passport instead of my own. Awesome. Missed the flight & had to force my hubbs to bring me the correct passport (3 hour round trip), causing him to be extremely late to work.

    • Christine says:

      I’m always terrified of something like that happening. Thankfully, my husband is very organized and ensures we have everything in order for personal trips. For work trips, I’m left to my own devices and all hell breaks loose.

  8. Oh my goodness, the food at lola looks amazing!! And I had no clue that Uno’s had whole grain fig/goat cheese pizza, wow! Guess it’s been a while since I’ve been there:). Yum, so much good food!

  9. I love figs – never thought of them as a pizza topping though – but I bet it was delish!! And just imagine how many calories the non-mini desserts had. So you did a good thing. And honestly – I could eat 322 calories in 30 seconds – just give me a spoon and a jar of peanut butter.

  10. Meri says:

    Beautiful food pictures! Lola sounds great, I’d love to try it!

  11. Grace says:

    All your food looks so yummy! I try not to look at the nutritional info about restaurant desserts-i know they’re not pretty but I like to pretend it’s not so bad:)

  12. That food does look awesome! I’ve only taken one red eye before, but I can never sleep on planes, so I just end up super cranky!

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  13. OMG Amazing food!! I adore figs! And both the kebab and the pizza sound amazing! Those little mini desserts don’t look too bad either. Just don’t think about the calories, they don’t count in miniature things, right? 😉

  14. Hi from Charlotte!
    Sorry you had to run like a crazy person around our airport… it happens. It just usually happens to me in Atlanta. I *hate* the ATL airport. Grr.

    All of your food looks dee-licious! 🙂
    And your iPhone pics beat the pants off of my BlackBerry’s photos. Ugh. Time for an iPhone, come June!

    ~

    • Christine says:

      I used to live in Atlanta, and yeah, it doesn’t get much worse than that if you’re running late and have to change terminals!

  15. Missy says:

    I dunno, that crab looks pretty amazing. If you’d used a real camera I may have tried to bite the monitor.

Leave a Reply

