PBOOIAJ

I spent half my day at work today interviewing people for a new role on my team. I’m hiring someone internally from the company so I already know the people who are interviewing, or someone on my team does. I work from a remote office (a.k.a. my house), so these were phone interviews. I had a bunch of interviews back-to-back with fifteen minute breaks in between and no break for lunch. I repeat, no break for lunch. I require lunch. I require breaking for lunch. It is my time to review my to-do lists, evaluate, assess, plan, think, etc. So wah wah I didn’t get a lunch break today. No big deal. But I still had to eat. And try as I did to prepare and eat my lunch in fifteen minutes, it didn’t happen. So, I was interviewing this girl and eating at the same time. I’d ask her a question, then eat while she talked. It was working perfectly until… She had been talking for a couple of minutes then she goes, “I think I got off track. Could you repeat the question.” My mouth was stuffed with food. Stuffed to the point that I couldn’t even say “hold on” let alone repeat the question. She totally caught me. It was pretty funny. Embarrassing but funny. Better than me catching her eating, I suppose.

Also, in another one of the interviews, the candidate dropped the F-bomb. I didn’t say anything, but in my mind, I was like “I like her.” What does that say about me?

Do you ever have those days that you just know are going to be awesome, from the moment you get up? Today was one of those for me. It might have had something to do with running out of peanut butter yesterday. Because what’s better than a jar of peanut butter? An empty jar of peanut butter! I know, I know, you’re saying “What, Merf? You’re crazy!” (Except all you food bloggers. You know where I’m going with this.)

You see, only with an empty jar of peanut butter can you make Peanut Butter Overnight Oats In A Jar. Whew, that’s a mouthful. How about PBOOIAJ. Better? Er, maybe not.

PBBOIAJ? That sounds delicious, Merf, tell me more!

I have to confess, I said that the empty peanut butter jar was better than the jar of peanut butter, but to be honest, you need to bust out a new jar of peanut butter to make this really work. Preferably Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Dream. Trust me.

So next time you run out of a jar of peanut butter, don’t despair.  (In fact, if you don’t have an empty jar of peanut butter, do it anyway. Get a bowl. Pretend. Play make believe. Come on, people!) Just do this…

Get a bowl and put this stuff in it:

  • 1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt (Fage is my favorito)
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (I used Vanilla)
  • 1/3 cup oats (good ol’ Quaker works)
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds (<- if you don’t have these, get them. Use them. Love them. They love you.)
  • 1/2 ripe banana, sliced thin
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Stir, stir, stir…

Pour it into your empty peanut butter jar if you have one. Put the top on your peanut butter jar or cover the bowl and put it in the fridge. Fuggedaboudit until tomorrow.

Wake up in the morning. Skip the snooze button. Jump out of bed, get ready as fast as you can, and bolt to the fridge to grab this:

Look inside…

Don’t judge a book by its cover.

Add a teaspoon of agave syrup or half a packet of Stevia, stir, add a heaping teaspoon (or two) of the nut butter of your choice (trust me, choose Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Dream), and EAT!

It’s amazingly delicious. Filling, healthy, cold, refreshing, peanut buttery goodness.

Matter of fact, I’m about to head to bed, but before I go, I need to make myself some Overnight Oats.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to PBOOIAJ

  1. Deb says:

    Do you ever have those days that you just know are going to be awesome, from the moment you get up?
    The last several days have been like this, actually! I’m starting to feel like I’m in the eye on the storm.

    It doesn’t all have to balance our, right? Sometimes it can just be good?

    (BTW, I miss my WFH days!)

  2. My one and only issue with overnigt oats is i always end up stealing some of it before I go to bed 😉 loll… those look delicious though!!!

  3. I love overnight oats!!! It’s so hard to go back to eating “traditional” oatmeal after having it cold, thick, and deliciously ooey gooey. I need to go make mine for tomorrow. 🙂

  4. haha! I love that the applicant’s cursing made you think about how much you like her 😛

    when I don’t get a meal I cannot function! I don’t blame you for sneaking in lunch whether or not the interviewee noticed! 😛

  5. Hannah says:

    Can you please make me one of these right now? I’ll pay! 😀

  6. lindsay says:

    haha, I love that you got caught eating. totally something I have done before too. and yes, chia seed in that jar totally makes it ROCKSTAR!

  7. Chad @ thebreakupnote says:

    I love doing this with empty peanut butter jars… now I get excited when we’re out. 🙂

  8. becca says:

    When I last cleaned my cupboards I found soooo many pretty much empty jars I had been “saving” to do this with and STILL havent…. once prep is over I’m all over it!

  9. Not only is it yummy, but it’s one less bowl to wash in the morning. Score!

  10. Looks delicious!! So funny about the interview haha!

  11. Rach says:

    I’ve still never tried OOIAJ or even OIAJ for that matter, haha! But they look yummy!

  12. Allie says:

    This post totally made me laugh! From having your mouth stuffed with food to being excited about an empty pb jar! LOL! How awesome that you get to work from home 🙂

  13. I can’t be bothered to wait until my jars are empty… I make my own nut butters, and have a ton of Ball jars, so I take a TBSP or two of nut butter, spread it around on the bottom and sides of a jar, and make my OOIAJ in that. No waiting! 🙂
    Just had it this morning… sooooo good. It took me a while to come around to overnight oats, but now that I did, I’m all over them!

    ~

  14. Looks delish! I think white chocolate is the only PB&Co. flavor I haven’t tried!

  15. Priyanka says:

    I am a PB fan but I don’t look for specific brands only up until DCD came in my life. That stuff is amazing, gives me the feeling of PC and nutella.

  16. Great post and this looks like a perfect dinner for me. 🙂

  17. I’m not much of a yogurt person, so I’m not into the overnight oats, but I do approve of eating oatmeal out of a peanut butter jar. It’s addicting. And I feel like a kid. It’s awesome.

  18. Missy says:

    Multi-tasking at it’s best.
    Mindful eating? Pshaw.
    Maybe it counts when you are eating and also using your mind?
    PBOOIJ is also multi-tasking. You are eating AND recycling AND celebrating the end of a jar of PB.

    I think you should applaud the next interviewee who eats whilst interviewing.

    • Christine says:

      I’ve never been one for mindful eating. I’m always doing at least one other thing while I eat, not including using my mind. One of these days I’ll try some mindful eating. Well, mindful anything, really.

  19. Sophia Lee says:

    I like YOU for liking an inteviewee who dropped the f-bomb. I wish more recruiters were like you. You’re so f**king awesome.

  20. I’m a hardcore chocolate PB lover, but it will require death and resurrection as a new person with new taste buds and no texture issues to be onside with oats, jarred overnight or otherwise. 🙂 It makes me feel like a blog fraud, I have to say—failing to eat oatmeal is like swearing that enormous quantities of sugar is GREAT, kombucha is hogwash, and processed foods are the only way to fly. WILL I BE VOTED OFF THE ISLAND? 😉

    • Christine says:

      First I find out Kath doesn’t like quinoa. Now you don’t like oats. What’s next? I can’t take these revelations!

      • If it helps, I like oats, I don’t like cooked oatmeal. Prepared that way, (or softened, as per OOIAJ), just no. But oats are in my protein pancake every day, and I heart oatmeal cookies… It’s a texture thing.

        But Kath and the quinoa… that sh*t’s just weird. 😉

  21. I have never been a fan of OOIAJ why?!?!! I have no clue but yours actually does sound good. That is so funny rgd. the interview. I have had that happen to my on conference calls. Nobody would ask me any questions for the entire hour until I started eating then they needed me!

  22. Ha, I knew what PBOOIAJ would be when I saw the headline!

    Can you imagine that chia seeds are totally unknown in Germany? I asked for them at three organic supermarket and a health store, and I was always stared at with big eyes. Boo.

  23. I need to try overnight oats! All the bloggies talk about it!

  24. Bonnie says:

    You loving the candidate that dropped the “F” bomb during the interview just solidifies why I like you so much.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  25. So tasty!! I just had OOIAJ with the last of my white chocolate PB too. I cried a little when it was done. I can’t find it in stores anymore!!

  26. I would have been the one dropping F bombs if I had to go without lunch. Too funny how you made sure you fit lunch in…and then got caught on the interview.

    I’m one of those oddballs who actually doesn’t care for overnight oats. do love oats in a jar though! And White Choc Wonderful is my fave flavor by far.

  27. LauraJayne says:

    If I have a meeting that means I’ll miss lunch, I reschedule. No joke. Mostly I just try to never schedule ANYTHING that means I’ll miss lunchtime and turn into a crazy, hungry LauraJayne. Cuz I will, and no one will like it.

  28. I just discovered this peanut butter brand the other day. I haven’t tried the white chocolate yet, but I’ve tried their maple and dark chocolate varieties. So good! OOIAJ are the best treat to wake up to! 🙂

  29. Panda says:

    Hmm, interesting. I will try this. I have always sprouted my Chia Seeds and eaten them.

  30. Wow, you have perfect timing! I just finished my jar of, believe it or not, White Chocolate Wonderful, and have been saving it because I have seen people make overnight oats but wasn’t sure how (and with the tri this weekend I hadn’t gotten around to looking it up yet). My husband keeps trying to throw it away but I stopped him! I am going to make this tomorrow!:)

Leave a Reply

