Giveaway Winner & What I Ate Wednesday!

Isn’t my dad the BEST?  I don’t think he has read my 5k post yet, but when he does, he’s going to freak the funk out… especially when he sees your beautiful comments. He loves you all anyway, but now, sheesh, he’s going to want to adopt you all. 😉

Hey… Guess what day it is?  TUESDAY! Which means that yesterday was Monday. (yes, I am channeling Rebecca Black.) I promised you a GT’s Kombucha giveaway winner on Monday, but I didn’t want to distract from my post about my awesomesauce dad. So, the giveaway winner is announced at the end of this post. Anyway, back to today. Tuesday. It’s 10:30 PM, which means it may as well be Wednesday at this point, which meeeeeannnnnssss

It’s What I Ate Wednesday!

For lunch today, I had Katy’s Black Bean Quinoa “Crab” Cakes. I enjoyed these. I actually busted out the bottle of Sriracha, because I was sure I’d need it. But these were perfect on their own.

They are pretty easy, too. Start with black beans.

Mash ’em all up.

Mix the other stuff in.

Do some other stuff and voila!

And I so happened to have a bunch of spinach that needed to be consumed ASAP, so I put the “crab” cakes over spinach, just like Katy. (I’m such a copy cat.)

For a snack, I had celery with Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams. Perhaps a little bit too much peanut butter. It’s seriously hard to show self control around that stuff.

Okay, okay, that’s all the food I have for you. Hope I made you hungry! And now, the winner of the GT’s kombucha giveaway! The winner is Kat from Agave & Spice!

Congratulations, Kat! Email me your shipping info at christine (at) merfinprogress (dot) com, and I’ll put your coupons in the mail.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Giveaway Winner & What I Ate Wednesday!

  1. Congrats Kat! And happy WIAW Christine!!! ❤ I got in trouble with the WIAW police (JENNY! <3) for posting early but it's ok! haha

    Those "crab" cakes look awesome!!!! I'm game!

  2. Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed them!!! 🙂

  3. Man, I forgot to buy quinoa at the store and now I keep seeing all these awesome quinoa recipes!! Yay, WIAW!

  4. I hopped over here from your WIAW link up 🙂

    I was laughing at your recipe directions! “mix other stuff in, do some stuff…” too funny! The mashed beans look yummy! I love bean dip 🙂

    • Christine says:

      LOL, thanks Megan! It was someone else’s recipe so I figured I didn’t need to re-explain everything. 😀

  5. I devoured my jar of DCD in a few spoonfuls- it is crazy addicting! And sadly all gone now 😦

  6. ohh I love the idea of making “crab” cakes! As a maryland native I will have to give these a test run to see if they live up to the read deal 😉

    • Christine says:

      They don’t. Haha. Just being honest. I live in VA, and there is no substitute for actual blue crab!!!

  7. lindsay says:

    nice dinner Chris…..love the Sriracha. And congrats to Katy!!

  8. This post definitely made me hungry. And I just ate breakfast, LOL.

    I love using celery as a vehicle for more delicious things like almond butter and peanut butter 🙂

  9. Kelsey says:

    YUM! Those black bean crab cakes look out of this world! And I definitely have zero self control around dark chocolate dreams. It’s so, so delicious! But, hey, you had it with a vegetable so it all balances out 😉

  10. Um, definitely making those! That looks fab! Congrats to Kat!

  11. Allie says:

    That PB looks uh-maze-ing! Miiight have to track that down. Although, I already have no PB self-control–it might be dangerous 🙂

  12. I know what you mean! I always use a little (okay, a lot) too much of PB & Co’s goodies – particularly cinnamon raisin. Mmmmm….

  13. Congrats Kat! I can’t control myself around that peanut butter at all either! It’s too hard!

  14. Allie says:

    Peanut butter and self restraint do not mix haha.

    I seriously loved the post about your dad 🙂 So proud of him!

    Your crabby cakes look good! Especially over spinach!

  15. Holy crap those look good! Must. Try. Now.

  16. Honestly, Christine, you’ve made your way up to a *real* foodie within a few months. Bean burgers? Where shall this lead? 😀

    (Seriously: They look amazing. And I think I have to try something like that. I need to catchup a little. ;))

  17. LauraJayne says:

    Breaking out the Sriracha bottle is always appropriate. Always.

  18. Those cakes look SO freaking good!!! I would love to have one of those for dinner 🙂

  19. I sort of love using black beans like that. They’re so versatile.

    I can’t believe I am discussing versatility of black beans.

    Btw, the screaming fox you posted in my comments creeped me out. Then made me laugh. Hoorah!

    • Christine says:

      I’m laughing so hard right now because… right?… it’s the weirdest thing ever!!! And I hear it outside my window.

  20. you can never have too much DCD! :).. i have ZERO portion control when it comes to pb!

Leave a Reply

