My Local Local Diner

Saturday was day 3 of “Merf to 5k”. For some reason, I just felt really good. On Friday, I went 2.18 miles in 30:04 (13:48 pace). On Saturday, I went 2.39 miles in 31:25 (13:09 pace). I felt so much better on Saturday that it’s hard to believe my pace only improved by 39 seconds. Is 39 seconds a lot? Doesn’t feel like a lot to me.

After the gym, we went to a local place called the Silver Diner. I ❀ this place. They set such a great example of offering local, real food. They serve local milk and eggs, all natural hormone free beef burgers, local breads, local coffee, and local beer and wine. On their website, the list exactly where they purchase everything, so you know the exact farm/business that your products came from. J-Man ordered blueberry pancakes. I had wasabi salmon sliders, which are served with a summer citrus salad (mango, strawberries, spinach, walnuts, dried cranberries, mmm deliciousness).

Want a better view of the car? Silver Diner gives every kid one of these cardboard cars. Of course, my son chose “red”. (Ahem, J-Man, that is pink. Purple at best.)

Want a closer view of the salmon sliders? Oh my word, these things are insane. So good.

Organic ketchup. What kind of diner uses organic ketchup? Love this place.

J-Man spent the majority of his meal carefully removing the blueberries (that we shelled out an extra .99 for because I insisted he have some nutritional value in his meal) and arranging and rearranging the toothpick flags from my sliders (and Daddy’s burger).

Today we went to Costco and spent K-Dub’s first year of college tuition money. (Sorry, kid. I hope you’re some kind of intellectual or athletic prodigy.) But really, sometimes you just know on the way into Costco that you’re going to need a forklift to get your purchases into the car. J-Man was thrilled with the sample food today. He had a piece of bread, a garlic shrimp, a piece of jerky, grape juice, a Naked juice, and a salted caramel. Winning.

The last thing I want to mention before I finally go to bed is that I am officially obsessed with Mama Pea’s blog. Do you read it? I love food blogs, and they have given me so many ideas for awesome meals, but I die (of happiness) every time I find a food blog where the recipes are palatable to children. Β Mama Pea is a vegan, as are all the recipes on her site. I’m not a vegan — in fact, I’m not even a vegetarian — but I don’t like to cook meat (so gross), so I’m always looking for new veggie recipes. I’ve been completely sucked into this blog and have stayed up way too late planning weekly menus of nothing but her recipes. Alas, I feel like I should try at least one of her recipes before officially calling it love. This week, I will be makingΒ zucchini quinoa lasagna. J-Man has even agreed to try it. We’ll see!

This entry was posted in children, eat, merf to 5k. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My Local Local Diner

  1. So cool that they give kids little cars like that!! 39 seconds is definitely a lot! πŸ™‚

    • Christine says:

      Good to know. I wasn’t sure if I should get too excited about 39 seconds or not! All I knew was it certainly felt like a harder workout.

  2. Hannah says:

    Those slamon sliders look amazing! And I love mama pea’s blog too, although I almost never make the recipes of hers that I so diligently bookmark πŸ˜›

  3. LOVE Mama Pea… and you KNOW her recipes are kid friendly because her two cuties eat them… but they’re everyone friendly, because they’re not bland for kid palates.

    I love organic ketchup πŸ™‚

    • Christine says:

      Fortunately, my kid seems not to require bland food. He has been really into rice crackers wrapped with nori lately. That one made me fall out of my chair.

  4. lindsay says:

    now thats my kind of diner! I love the little flags, that totally won me over. I’m a sucker for all things cute!

  5. 39 seconds is a LOT. That’s awesome!

    P.S…you may have won something on my site…just sayin’. (I’m going to forward your email to the lady @ YogaDownload and she’ll contact you πŸ™‚ ).

  6. I’m. so. jealous.

    The buns on those sliders look like fabulousness all on their own! the rest of the deliciousness is just a bonus! haha =) yummy!

  7. LauraJayne says:

    I LOVE that he picked out the blueberries! My little brother was (and is) so that kid! He’ll pick every single onion, pepper, etc off of his pizza before eating it! He’s got mad skills too, and doesn’t let a single one escape!

  8. Missy says:

    At least at Cosco you know the food will last….at Whole Foods you can spend a years worth of tuition, books, food and room and board and walk out with two bags. (0:

    Don’t worry. He show’s artistic promise. Save his first 3d peice “Blueberry peace march”

    PS- Thanks for your encouraging words on my blog.

  9. I ate there just yesterday! I was not expecting the local/organic options so like you, I was very impressed!

    • Christine says:

      We usually go only every month or two. My son says he’d like to go every Friday, and I might just take him up on that suggestion. I feel good supporting a place like that.

  10. Wasabi salmon sliders? Omg I would be in love! Every since I started eating sushi I have this intense love for things wasabi lol I recently tried those wasabi nuts, amazing πŸ˜€

  11. What a wonderful organic restaurant! πŸ˜€

    I know Mama Pea’s blog, but I don’t read it regularly. I can understand what you wrote about preparing meat. I’ve gotten used to it, but most of the times I only buy filet cuts which are rather “clean”. A whole chicken, for example, is a totally different category.

    • Christine says:

      Yes, I totally waste cash on meat that is as pre-prepared as possible. I will even pay extra to have the butcher pound the chicken. Or cut fat off of steak. Cube it, slice it, etc. Anything so that all I have to do is toss it in the oven!

  12. Oh, and I totally love how you’re doing on the Merf to 5K! To be honest, you’re doing much better than me (because I haven’t really exercized for weeks). I want to do something tomorrow!

    • Christine says:

      Well you’re supposed to be my exercise buddy, so that means we need to come up with a plan and encourage each other to stick to it! Email me πŸ˜€

  13. The diner looks awesome!! It’s great to have a place where you like eating healthy. The salmon looks amazing…I wish they had more places like that in Florida.

    I can’t wait to hear about your lasagna πŸ™‚

  14. Oh, that lasagna is life-changing. And that’s no lie: I’ve fed it to dyed-in-the-wool, uber-carnivorous Albertans who have said “oh. That *IS* good!!” None of them were kids, but in the sense of settlement, the West is the child of the East, so… oh, nevermind. πŸ™‚

  15. This place looks amazing!! Those salmon sliders are exactly what I would order too, YUM! I love that they offer all that local and organic food in a diner atmosphere, who doesn’t love a diner! That’s so cool!

    Great pics too!

  16. OMG I love Silver Diner! I miss it soo much now that we live in Cville (ironic that the Silver Diner coffee is from Cville!!!! but there is no SD here!!) but we do make it to Richmond about once a month because that’s the closest one to here =) I had the buffalo sliders there two weeks ago – have you had their vegan slaw?! AMAZING. SOOO good. =D

Leave a Reply

