Sprinter is Here to Stay

Yesterday I posted about how I was excited to return to “Couch to 5K” training. In thirty minutes, I went two miles, with probably nine or so total minutes of actual jogging. And once again, I’m blown away by the support of the blogging community. All the comments telling me what a wonderful job I’m doing, when all I am doing is comparing myself to marathoners and feeling like such a lame-o. It means a lot, and the encouragement really keeps me going. So…

Last night, we went to my in-laws’ house for dinner. My mother-in-law made salmon in parchment paper, and it was delicious! Β She is one of those people who just throws things together, and they taste great. I would seethe with jealousy, but I’m too busy stuffing my face.

I woke up this morning to this yuckiness:

My 4-year-old son, J-Man, named this “Sprinter” because it’s not quite Spring and not quite Winter. Cute!!!Β  Unfortunately, for the time being, sprinter is here to stay.

Since no one else was awake yet, and we had a full day planned as a family, I decided to do a yoga DVD. I have a few yoga DVDs that I rarely do, and this morning I picked “Power Yoga for Happiness.”Β  The name says it all — yoga should make you happy!

There are five different routines to choose from on this DVD, so for $19.95, it’s a great deal. And guess what? I’ve only done one of the routines. I just love it, so I can’t help but pick it every time. The routine is called “Magically Hips,” it’s 55 minutes long, and it stretches and strengthens your hips. I don’t think any other yoga video makes me feel as amazing as this one.

The whole “happy yoga” idea is different and interesting.The instructor, Eoin Finn, makes comments like “make it pleasant and love what you feel.” My favorite line in the entire video is this:

“Literally and metaphorically, people who are down, come on back up.”

But he also has some strange comments…

“This pose should feel sugar sweet.
Please don’t go so far that it’s too intense.
It should feel you’re getting ice cream licked off your body.”

Um..? I think I can confidently say that I’ve never felt as though anyone were licking ice cream off me during yoga. πŸ˜›

Ignore these crappy photos. They are so I can mark my progress as I do more yoga!

Triangle Pose:

Side Prayer Pose

(did I rearrange the pillows on my couch after the first picture? Why, yes, thank you for noticing!)

This afternoon, I went to the grocery store. I convinced J-Man to stay home with his daddy, so I just had the little baby with me and was able to take my time. I love being able to take my time at the store! (and not to deal with “Mommy Buy Me That!“)

Guess what the Giant had today………..

Peanut Butter & Co!!!Β  I couldn’t believe it. I stood there deliberating over which one to buy for at least five minutes. I settled on White Chocolate Wonderful. I don’t know if I made the right choice. They all look amazing. I figured I couldn’t go wrong with chocolate.

Another item that caught my eye today was this.

I didn’t buy it, but it definitely caught my eye. Ever tried it? I love (LOVE) artichokes, plus I’m intrigued by the idea of getting more vitamins than with regular pasta. I’m trying to get a handle on my impulse shopping, so I added this to my list of things I am curious about and want to try.

I got so much awesome food, I can’t WAIT to eat it all this week!!!Β  Avocados, bananas, bell peppers, carrots, spinach, Boca burgers, sandwich thins, tomatoes, and…

I ❀ Grape Nuts. They will be gone in a week.

Okay, for dinner I decided to make Caitlin’s Perfect Baked Tofu and The Pioneer Woman’s Simple Sesame Noodles. The combination of recipes was perfect (go me!) but I am a terrible multi-tasker, and it took me forever to make both meals. I basically didn’t do anything concurrently, so I made the sesame noodles completely before starting the tofu. We were starving but it was worth the wait.

Ingredients for the sesame noodles:

(Photos of boiling noodles are boring, so let’s skip to the end!) – Done!

Noodles done. Time for tofu. Ingredients for the tofu:

Here’s my tofu pressing…

Ready to go in the oven:

Finished, perfect!

Put ’em together and what do you get?

Simple Sesame Noodles with Perfect Baked Tofu — Delish!

Paired with a Japanese beer, mmm.

And I may or may not have finished the evening by eating a half pint too much of Ben & Jerry’s Half Baked. (hint: I did)

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and are ready to OWN the week ahead. xo

This entry was posted in eat, life, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Sprinter is Here to Stay

  1. I’m obsessed with the cinnamon raisin swirl! Still haven’t found the white chocolate though! I need to do more happy yoga. Most of my DVDs are so intense, and there’s no real relaxation in them!

  2. It’s currently snowing here … I feel your pain! :p

  3. You are going to love that peanut butter! I just bought it and I love it. I wish I could get my hands on the maple and raisin kinds- I will have to keep looking πŸ™‚

  4. Hannah says:

    So envious of the peanut butter, the tofu, and your stretchy ability. I’m hoping to do a five hour yoga workshop next weekend to kickstart my yoga goals πŸ™‚

  5. I totally adore you for doing the CT5K! πŸ˜€ I’ve thought about trying it myself because I want to get into running finally, but perhaps I’ll just do without a plan.

    Yoga as home is a great thing for flexibility and workout. I always think of yoga as the perfect combination of cardio and weights.

    And I want to have that salmon and asparagus dinner. NOW. πŸ˜‰

    • Christine says:

      The salmon was delicious. My mother in law rocks. If I can get my hands on some wakame, I still really want to make your meal that you made with octopus. But I’m going to use salmon!

      Oh, and I haven’t posted this week’s menu, but your cherry tomato and egg salad is on my list this week!

  6. I love how you ‘cleaned up’ your couch between photos… that is something I would do!

    As for the new DeBoles product… I haven’t seen that. But Jerusalem artichokes (aka Sunchokes) aren’t like regular artichokes… they are more like a root. (The root of a flower that kind of looks like a sunflower, actually). But it sounds interesting.

    Your eats look great! πŸ™‚

    ~

    • Christine says:

      Cool. I am going to get the artichoke noodles next time I’m at the store. They seem interesting enough to try. (and lol about the sofa cushions!!!)

  7. I have yet to try any of those yummy looking peanut butters. 😦

    Great looking dinner! The tufo does look picture perfect.

  8. Priyanka says:

    Your son’s coinage of the term sprinter is an absolute work of genius! And a message to Mr. Snow, your time is up, please go now!

    Do you have some of the noodle leftovers, I am drooling over that dish.

  9. ToddFromVA says:

    My kid’s peanut allergic, so none of that peanut butter goodness in our house, but I still find it just a touch ironic that Giant stocks the I. M. Healthy Soy Nut Butter (which is safe for her) right next to the peanut butters. (I think that’s the Unsweetened variety with the green cap to right of your photo.)

    • Christine says:

      Can she eat almond butter? Or sunflower butter? Mmmmm… But too sad, no dark chocolate PB for her. 😦

      • ToddFromVA says:

        The Soy Nut Butter isn’t peanut butter, but it’s not a bad approximation of it. When I was a kid there were these peanut-butter-ish candies called Mary Janes, and it tastes like I remember them tasting. I think we’ve tried almond butter in the past, and we have Nutella in the house, too.

        Peanut allergies are tricky, because even though peanuts aren’t tree nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, etc.) and she’s not allergic to tree nuts, lots of tree nut products are processed in the same facility as peanuts, so she can’t have them. She also can’t have plain M&Ms, for the same reason;.

      • Christine says:

        I ❀ Mary Janes! I checked, and my almond butter was made on equipment that handles peanuts. Booo.

  10. That tofu looks really good! I’m always scared to try to make it because i’ve heard it’s easy to mess up.

  11. White Choc Wonderful is my FAVE!!! Although I’ve never tried the Cin Raisin and really, really, really want to. I can’t find it near me. 😦

    I cracked up at the yoga video commentary. Not sure how ice cream being licked off bodies relates to yoga…or how that’s supposed to be a pleasurable feeling. Sticky and cold? No thank you!

  12. LauraJayne says:

    In my opinion, walking is SUCH an important part of every running program, not just training for a 5K! You are going to rock it and never apologize for walking! It’s what keeps you injury-free!

  13. i loooove grapenuts! had them this morning, with warm vanilla soy milk on top. try it if you havent! it’s the best :).

  14. That tofu looks amazing!

    To answer your question, I guess I have sort of stopped blogging. I’ve come to realize that blogging is much tougher that I thought it would be. Coming up with something interesting to stay and finding the time to organize it all into a blog post has become a challenge for me. Probably due to life/work changes.

    But it totally warms my heart that someone noticed! And I still enjoy reading blogs daily – that requires no talent at all!

    • Christine says:

      I miss your blog but glad you are still around. You inspired me a lot when I first started C25K, and I would love to still see what races you’re doing!

  15. Jerusalem Artichokes (like that pasta above) are definitely different than normal green artichokes, but delicious nonetheless! If I ever stumble upon that pasta, I think I’d have to try it!

  16. Pingback: Q1 2011 Performance Review | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

