C25K is a bully.

Okay folks, here’s the truth. Couch to 5K is kicking my ass. C25K is a bully. It jumped me out back by the dumpster after school. It stole my lunch money. It makes me carry its books. It wears a raccoon hat.

I completed week 2 today. Week 2 is alternating 1.5 minute runs and 2 minute walks. By the end of my 90 second runs, my heart rate is in the high 170’s and I don’t feel like I can do anymore. So, in week 2 this has been fine, because just when I feel like I need to stop running, the lovely man on my C25K iphone app says “walk now” and I want to make out with him through the phone.

So, week 2 is done and it’s time to move on to week 3. Week 3 is 90-second jog, 90-second walk, 3-minute jog, 3-minute walk, repeat. If my heart rate is up in the 170’s after 90 seconds, I really don’t know if I should keep running for another 90 seconds.*

My plan is to start week 3 and see how it goes. If I don’t feel safe running for 3 minutes straight, I’ll repeat week 2 then try week 3 again. Lather, rinse, repeat. Eventually, I should get into shape enough to run 3 minutes without my heart feeling like it’s going to beat out of my chest.

Today’s workout:

  • Laps completed: 8.8
  • Average Speed: 4.4
  • Average Cal/Hour: 441
  • Average Min/Mile: 13:38
  • Average HR: 153

It occurred to me today that the average HR measurement must be off, becuase I only hold the HR sensors when I’m walking. So after running, I grab the sensors and hold on for dear life to record my HR, then I let go when it’s time to run again. I need to get a new battery for my Polar HR monitor, so I get an accurate average.

*Let me say for anyone who is wondering, I have been to the cardiologist. I have had stress tests and echocardiograms, and everything looks normal. I just get an elevated HR when I exercise.

Tofu Parmigiana

I made the last meal off my weekly menu last night. Tofu Parmigiana. I think the only change I made to the original recipe was throwing some sliced mushrooms on top.

Here’s the deal. I’m not the world’s biggest tofu fan, but I like eating it for health reasons and am trying to incorporate it into my weekly menus. If I had prepared this without looking at the reviews, I probably would have given it 4 stars. Not amazing, but worth making again.

Unfortunately, I did read the reviews.Β  This recipe has 4.5 stars on AllRecipes, 579 written reviews, and over 17,000 saves. The reviews all say things like you won’t believe you’re eating tofu, you’ll think you’re eating chicken, blah blah. Well let me tell you, I could tell I was eating tofu, and it tasted like tofu. So having read the reviews and expected to taste something that tasted like chicken, it felt more like a 3-star meal to me. Nonetheless, I will make it again, because as far as tofu goes, it was quite tasty.Β  Plus, I made a sandwich out of the leftovers today, which was super delicious.

Leftover Tofu Parmigiana on sprouted bread from Trader Joe’s.

Do you like tofu? What is your favorite recipe? (Link!)

Words of encouragement for C25K are always welcome!

This entry was posted in c25k, eat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to C25K is a bully.

  1. Fianna says:

    Throughout the C25k, I always felt near collapsing. By the end of each run, I felt like I wouldn’t make it through yet I always did. It was really difficult, but the mental battle was so much more of it than I wanted or thought it to be. I did redo a couple weeks because I just couldn’t imagine moving on when I thought I was about to die at the end of the run.

  2. Hannah says:

    I’m in awe of you for even trying. I exercise… pretty much never. So I really admire everyone else who does! πŸ˜›

  3. BIOCHEMISTA says:

    Keep up the good work girl! I always tell people that wonder how I run marathons…The hardest part for me when I first started running was to get myself to comfortably run 3-4 miles. Once I mastered that (which took some patience) 5 felt like 7, and once I did 7 I could do 10 and so on…

    Keep up the good work chica and it will all pay off πŸ™‚

  4. You can do C25k! I know it’s hard, but my sister had NEVER run before she did it, and she stuck to it and finished strong! She mentioned that the third or fourth week was the hardest for her, and then after that, it seemed to get easier- even though you’re running for longer distances. YOU CAN DO IT!!

  5. Rach says:

    You so got this! You will get through it and be so proud of yourself at the end when you are running 5k’s like it’s nothing! πŸ™‚

  6. I’ve tried silken tofu recently (despite my honest distrust in soy, because it’s so *in*) and I found it totally disgusting. πŸ˜• Maybe the firm one is better? I think the taste may still be disgusting, but at least the texture could be better … Hm, but since I’m not a vegetarian, why spend money on tofu when I can have chicken? πŸ˜€

    I think I may enter the C25K challenge out of sympathy (as soon as my cold is gone), and also because I *still* (after years – !! – of fruitless attempts) hope to get into running some day. I’ve already bookmarked the plan.

  7. I’m not a big tofu fan, but I’ve got to admit that sandwich does look yummy! I do love that TJs sprouted bread! I like it even better than Ezekiel because it’s cheaper and it’s not frozen so you don’t have to chisel pieces off πŸ™‚

    Hang in there with C25K, you can do it! Everybody is different so even if you have to modify the plan, you’ll eventually get there and it will be so worth it!! I’m cheering for you! πŸ™‚

    We are getting a treadmill soon (hopefully), so I hope to try out C25K for myself then!

  8. I enjoy some preparations of tofu – mostly fried in pad thai. So that’s not exactly healthy but it is the most delicious in my opinion :).

  9. I swear by Emily’s (Daily Garnish) crispy pan “fried” tofu. You can use oil, or just cooking spray. It’s crispy and delicious. I cook it that way for most everything, and either eat as is, or add it to stir-fries and other dishes.

    I’m not totally sold on soy, and have my concerns with eating a lot of it. However, about once a month I really enjoy tofu!

    ~

  10. If you don’t like tofu I would try tempeh. IT has a MUCH higher concentration of soy than tofu and the texture is awesome.
    That parmigiana looks delish though πŸ˜‰

  11. The C25k will keep getting better for you! Imagine how good you will feel when you did the 5k πŸ™‚

    Sorry I don’t have any tofu recipes…I’ve been way to scared to even buy it.

  12. Jenn says:

    Good job on undertaking the C25K! You’ll feel GREAT when you’ve accomplished it! πŸ™‚ And, by the way, the Tofu Parmigiana looks amazing. I LOVE tofu … but have yet to convince my husband of it’s wonderfulness. I’ll be making this for lunches though .. yum!

    ps. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

  13. Hope you’re fine! *wave* πŸ™‚

  14. Allison says:

    Hahaha i love that ‘I could tell I was eating tofu and it tasted like tofu’. Tofu can be tough and Ive been experimenting with it a lot lately. Most recently slicing it super thin and dry frying it. I actually enjoyed it!

  15. Katie says:

    Keep up the good work! As much as running probably feels like death now, it will get easier! You have probably heard that a hundred times but it’s true! I would say just take it day by day, if you have to repeat the second week, that isn’t a bad thing, just means you will be better prepared for week 3!

    Also, definitely trying this tofu recipe. I agree with you that I don’t ever think tofu tastes like chicken, so when I think of it that way I am usually disappointed. I just have to think of it as its own little food group ha

  16. I literally have tofu in my fridge but I’m afraid to try it, it’s been there for two weeks waiting to be mixed into a stir fry, maybe tomorrow night? Not tonight though I have other healthy things planned, pizza! I’ll let you know how I cook it if it turns out well=) Don’t get discouraged with your couch25k! I often feel like I’m dying when running and but my phone voice is a girl, she fools me all the time by telling my my pace when I hope she’s telling me to walk now!

  17. Simply Life says:

    Wow, what a great idea for tofu!

  18. i just fell out of my chair! tofu parm!? oh i’m all over this!!!!!

  19. Hey, I’m working on C25K also. Think I’m on week 3. Maybe by May I will be running without walking!

  20. Pingback: Can It Really Be Over? | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

