Holy Crud.

I was IM’ing with my boss today about how absolutely horribly sick I feel. After filling him in on excessive details that probably made him cross-eyed — including the fact that I now have pink eye on top of everything else — he replied with… “holy crud.” I couldn’t have put it any better.

Captain America Plays Twister

On Sunday, I woke up with the most mind-blowingly painful headache I have had in my entire life, and over the course of the day it got worse. I was trying so hard to play with my son, J-Man, and pretend everything was fine, but if I moved too fast, it felt like my eyeballs were going to pop out of my head. So, when J-Man pulled out Twister and asked to play (yes, we play two-person Twister. One person spins and one person twists. Hey, he’s four.) I told him there was no way I could bend over or my brain might explode. He was completely unsympathetic (clearly he’s never had a headache before). I looked down and saw a Captain America figurine on the floor, and a thought occurred to me. “How about if Captain America twists when you spin?” He thought about it, decided that was acceptable, and … Right Foot Yellow!

Right Foot Yellow

Right Hand Red!

Right Hand Red

Right Hand Blue!

Right Hand Blue

I made a big production out of moving him from one circle to another, like he had to use his super powers to move so far. Then I’d be all “oh noooo, Captain America can’t hold the pose, he’s going to faaaalllllll….” You seriously have to love playing with four-year-olds. They are so easily amused (as am I apparently).

Salad. Yum.

Last night I wanted to make a big salad before dinner, partly to keep myself from overeating, but also to use up some ingredients in the fridge. In particular, I had made a spontaneous purchase of lemon Stilton (shame on me) and had no idea what to do with it, so I figured I’d experiment with putting it on a salad. Dad gum, this salad was outstanding, y’all.

My Salad

Mesclun, celery, carrots, cuke, grape tomatoes, lemon Stilton, creamy Caesar dressing. MMMMMMMM.

My Salad

Lemon Stilton

Who needs Ben & Jerry’s?

I may have eaten a pint of Ben & Jerry’s over the weekend. Considering I’m trying to fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes, I figured this is not a great habit. So I’ve been snacking on Chobani Greek yogurt with chocolate chips and granola instead. It’s so good, who needs Ben & Jerry’s???

Snack

Snack

On to dinner…

Cheesy Spinach Spaghetti Squash courtesy of Jennifer at Peas and Crayons

I posted last week that I had accidentally purchased a spaghetti squash when I meant to buy a butternut squash. Dang! Jennifer referred me to two recipes on her site and said to make the cheesy spinach stuffing from one and mix it into spaghetti squash. So tonight I set about to do just that.

I snapped this photo of my ingredients all ready to go.

I got my pot of water boiling …

… before I realized I didn’t need to cook pasta!  I was just making the cheesy stuffing from the first recipe. Thank goodness I realized it before tossing the shells in!

Saute some garlic and a chopped onion…

Garlic and onion

Mix it all together with the cheese and spinach, and spread it out in a dish to bake…

Stuffing Mix

Now to prepare the spaghetti squash. This guy was HUGE.

Squash

It was going to take a huge knife to cut this sucker.

Knife

and a super strong lady.

Flex It!

Seriously, it had to have taken me five minutes to cut it in half, and I broke a sweat.

Cut Squash

Scooped out the insides with my bare hands. How rugged.

Scooped

and into the oven they go…

Squash

I baked the cheesy stuffing in my other oven…

Stuffing Oven

The stuffing came out looking and smelling amazing.

Stuffing

I scooped one half of the squash into a bowl and the other straight into a container to freeze it.

Mixed half the stuffing in the bowl and the other half in the storage container. It didn’t look pretty but it tasted DELICIOUS! So cheesy and YUM. I thought it was really, really good, and Husband agreed. Thank you, Jennifer!

For an appetizer I had grape tomatoes, avocado, with balsamic vinegar and fresh ground pepper.

And my son wanted me to take pictures of his dinner so you could see. There was no way he was eating anything mixed up with spinach.

Gemelli pasta, steamed broccoli, yogurt and a juice box. (note: he does not usually get juice for dinner but it was left over from breakfast…)

That’s it for tonight, folks. I’m off to see the ENT tomorrow for a tonsillectomy consultation. Fun!

This entry was posted in children, eat, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Holy Crud.

  1. Ohmygosh yayyyy! So happy you made it and liked it! ❤ I'm obsessed with this dish — I make it once or twice a month! ❤

    so super cute that your son wanted to show off his dinner too! =) love it!

  2. Holy crud, lmao. That’s hilarious!
    Your salad looks so good! A big colorful salad is one of my favorite go to meals ever!!
    Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Cherry Lane says:

    OK, I just might have to rethink my dislike of spaghetti squash. I want that!

    Feel better soon.

  4. WHOA! That spaghetti squash and stuffing looks insane! I need some of that ASAP… Gonna put that on my to do list to make asap 🙂

  5. I think I’d eat that stuffing all on it’s own – looks delish!!

  6. I love spaghetti squash, but I hate cutting them! I get really sweaty too 🙂 This dish looks so good, I may just have to suck it up and butcher a squash!

  7. I love that your son wanted you to take a picture of his food, too! So cute! I tried spaghetti squash like this and I didn’t like it…I would have loved your sons dinner though! I want to try to cook it another way and see if I like it better! My boyfriend liked it though!

  8. I love anything with cheese and sauce!

    You can make the squash easier to cut I’ve read by poking several holes in it with a fork and microwaving for about 45 seconds to a minute. That’s what I’ve read anyways 🙂

  9. Katie says:

    I love using spaghetti squash instead of pasta. This recipe looks SO awesome! I’m going to have to try it really soon. I hate cutting spaghetti squash too, I always feel like I’m going to cut my hand off. I usually just poke it with a fork and bake it before trying to cut into it at all.

  10. Okay, I enjoyed Captain America Twister more than I should have.

  11. Pingback: Q1 2011 Performance Review | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

