Couch to 5k Week 2 Day 1

Started week 2 of C25K today. I did it!

5 minute warm-up at 3.5-3.7
90 second Runs at 6.1
2 minute Walks at 3.5
5 minute cool-down at 3.0-3.5

A few observations I made while chugging away:

  • Running 90 seconds is harder than running 60 seconds. About 1.5 times harder, actually. 😉
  • During the Runs, I concentrate on my breathing, in through the nose and out through the mouth.
  • I also listen to my kick-ass near-perfect custom Pandora playlist, “Upbeat Workout”
  • The longer recovery time is good. I was still mostly able to get my HR back under 150 during the Walking phases.
  • I noticed that I’m not getting stitches in my side when running. That used to happen to me every time I went jogging. Why not now? Is it my breathing? That I am fueling up before running?
  • My legs feel good when running. The biggest hurdle right now is how winded I get.
  • I’m still really having trouble visualizing myself running 30 minutes straight. Does it really get easier???

I can’t wait to go back for day 2!!!

(note the changing reflection of the T.V. behind me in the gym, especially in the last pic!!!)
I need some words of motivation, people!!!
What keeps you running when you want to stop?
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Couch to 5k Week 2 Day 1

  1. Simply Life says:

    hmmm…what keeps me running? thinking about how good I'll feel when it's all done – and that the fast I run the quicker I'll be done! 🙂

  2. Kate (What Kate is Cooking) says:

    Good job! My sister did the C25k program and she did really well on it 🙂

  3. Allison says:

    I always think about the end goal. The harder I work throughout the training process the easier it will be to run the race!

    • merf says:

      That’s a great point, Allison. I really want the race not to be very difficult. So I guess the harder I try leading up to it, the easier it will be!

  4. Baking 'n' Books says:

    Thank you for coming to my blog!

    Motivation? Hmm…y’know I need that myself 😉

  5. It really does get easier! Then it starts to get addictive! I vividly remember being exactly where you are, and I run marathons now. One step at a time!

    Awesome that your Dad did the Peachtree RR back in ’82! Every year I see a couple of runners with the vintage finisher shirts. They are really cool to see.

  6. Is upbeat workout a pandora channel? ill have to check it out!

    • merf says:

      It’s a station I made on Pandora, but I can’t figure out how to share it. I can share it via email so let me know if you want me to email it to you. It’s tons of Rihanna, Gaga, Katy Perry, etc. So awesome for working out.

  7. Mike says:

    What keeps me going when I want to stop? I think it’s a fear of quitting. If you quit this workout or race, what’s to stop you from quitting the next one? So just never quit. I’ve never dropped out of a race or quit a workout.

    My favorite running quote:
    “You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.”
    Steve Prefontaine

    • merf says:

      Thanks, Mike. I have quit many times before, and you’re right… quitting begets quitting… Can’t quit this time! Gotta end the cycle!

  8. Stephanie says:

    I just stumbled acrossed your blog and wanted to congratulate you on starting couch 2 5k! I started C25K last March and I just signed up to run my first half marathon this April! It’s a great program and it does get easier! Although there will always be a few tough days thrown in there. Good luck!

    • merf says:

      Welcome, thanks for stopping by! You did C25K less than a year ago and are up to a half marathon? Wow, that’s very inspiring!

Leave a Reply

