You can’t HANDLE the snow!

You know the saying “when it rains, it pours?” Well, here in Virginia, that saying would be translated to “when it snows, all hell breaks loose.” I mean really, people. Whether it’s one inch or twenty, cottony fluff or icy dense snow, it doesn’t matter. We will react the same. Schools will close for a week. The entire regions succumbs to paranoia and paralysis. Oh, and the power will go out.

I left work early Wednesday to pick up my babies from school, since the snow was already coming down pretty heavy. Around 8 PM, my little one was alraedy asleep and my preschooler was taking a bath, when the power went out. No flickering, no warning, just BOOM. At first I thought we had blown a fuse by using the space heater in the bathroom, but when I looked out the window, the entire neighborhood was dark. I figured my preschooler was going to panic. I mean, he was in the bathtub in a pitch black bathroom. I was completely surprised by his reaction, when he said “Oh cool! Get the flashlights out!”  Really?

Books by (modern) candlelight

The kid was tickled pink (well I assume he was pink, being I couldn’t really see him) at the prospect of reading books by flashlight. The light bouncing around made me feel sort of nauseous and headachy, but he loved it.

Around 9:30 PM, I was completely bored since I couldn’t see anything and all, so I decided to call it a night. I was really worried about my baby getting too cold, since no power means no heat, so I covered him in a blanket and put mittens on his hands. Being 4 months old, he doesn’t usually use a blanket. This, of course, meant I was up all night, obsessively checking on him to make sure he didn’t smother himself in his blanket.

I am woman, Hear me roar.

In the morning, the house was so cold, we all lay in my bed for an hour or so just to stay warm. Finally, it was time to get up and get them to school, where there would be HEAT!!!  I got everybody into the car and hit the garage door opener and… nothing. Garage door openers take power. Awesome. So, I hopped out, pulled the red cord and lifted the door up manually. Like a cavewoman.

Unfortunately, the door wouldn’t stay up high enough to get my husband’s SUV out, and with 6″ of snow on the ground, my Corolla wasn’t going anywhere. So, I had to get everybody out of the car and trudge through the snow to a neighbor’s house to ask him to hold the garage door up so I could back the SUV out. Yay for neighbors!

So, the kids went to school where it was warm, and I went to my parents’ house where I could work. In my haste to get the kids to school and get to my job, I completely forgot about the food in the fridge/freezer. Oh well.

Operation Fridge Revival

In the end, our power didn’t come back on for 25 hours. We all stayed at my parents’ house Thursday night. My son thought that was such an adventure. We lost most of the food in our fridge. I opened the door and was blown back by the smell. I guess 25 hours is a long time. I’m not sure about the freezer. I threw away any dairy in the freezer (ice cream). I’m super leery about the meat and fish, but Husband says it should be fine if the power was out only one day. Right now, it’s all still in there, but I may end up chucking some of it. It’s not worth somebody getting sick.

Here’s my fridge when I got home. Tons of awesome leftovers, meatball soup, chili, veggies. All ruined. UGH. RIP, amazing chili.

Here it is after I dumped the spoiled stuff:

And here it is after a quick trip to Trader Joe’s to replenish the essentials:
Eggs, cottage cheese, cream cheese, yogurt, blackberries, hummus, spinach, carrots, celery, bell pepper… You know, the basics.
And to celebrate my once-again-nice-smelling-fridge, I made myself a snack. Plain greek yogurt, blackberries, banana, a granola bar, drizzled with agave syrup.

I’m having fun planning next week’s menu in my head. My favorite food bloggers have posted some wonderful looking recipes this week, and I am ready to be a copy cat!
Have you ever lost power for more than a day? How did you decide what to throw out and what to keep?
This entry was posted in children, snow. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You can’t HANDLE the snow!

  1. Eleanor@eatinglikeahorse says:

    No, never for that long; what a nightmare! Did you find yourself doing that thing when you're looking for a torch, because there's no power, and you can't find it in the dark so your hand automatically goes to the light switch… or is that just me?!England's the same with snow; last year, I was in central London when about three inches fell and it took us five and a half hours to get home (usually an hour's drive) mental ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Christine says:

    Hi Eleanor! Fortunately, my husband keeps everything so well organized that I was able to find the flashlights immediately. But I did keep flipping light switches, as though I momentarily forgot why I was stumbling around in the dark. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: January Wrap-Up | Merf In Progress

Leave a Reply

