Re-Focus.

Can I have a do over on today? A mulligan? Today was a complete FAIL from start to finish. Well, at least as far as food is concerned.

For starters, I committed to eating better than yesterday. But everything I tried to make today tasted like crap. I substituted coconut oil for butter in my oatmeal, and the taste was all wrong. I did manage to eat it all, though, and I felt good about the nutritional value at least — oatmeal, wheat germ, and an egg. That’s a nice protein-rich way to start the day!
At snack time, I had raw carrots and hummus. It was tasty, but I’ve been eating carrots for almost two weeks now after accidentally buying a 5-pound bag, and I’m sort of over them.

Things really started to fall apart around lunchtime. I didn’t break for lunch early enough, and I was very hungry, and when I’m very hungry, two things happen. First, I eat dumb things. Second, nothing tastes good. When I planned my meals last night, I said I was going to have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch. Why did I abandon my plan? Instead, I decided to improvise, even though I really know better. So, I ended up trying to eat two dumb creations, both of which tasted like dog food and went into the trash after only a few bites. I hate wasting food.

So of course after not eating a good lunch, what happens? I get hit hard by out of control sugar cravings. Next thing I know, I am eating a scone. (Note to self, no more baking, especially not something as yummy as scones.)

Now on a major sugar high, I really needed to refocus, so I took an impromptu jog in the afternoon. It was a jog/walk, really, and it felt great for about the first 15 minutes. Then suddenly, my head felt like it was going to explode, so I quickly walked home. Ten minutes or so after returning to my office, I felt fine. I’m not sure what made my head hurt so bad while running, but I think it was due to how friggin cold it was outside, and I didn’t think to wear a hat or ear warmers or anything.

I’ve been having a lot of trouble finding (making?) time to exercise, though, so the jog felt really great. And it’s super easy to just step outside for a jog and be back at my desk in 30 minutes. It helps me reset my mind, too, and focus on the second half of the day. Definitely going to have to make a habit of that.

I’ll sum up the evening with this: chicken nuggets. That’s what J-Man and I both had. He reeeaaalllyyy wanted chicken nuggets for dinner, and he demanded (in his little 4-year-old way) that I eat the same thing as him. So I sat and had chicken nuggets and applesauce with my little man. It was kind of nice, actually.

So, okay, I’m not proud of how I ate today, but that jog was really awesome. It inspired me to download a “couch to 5k” program on my iPhone, and I’m going to try to follow it. It’s jog/walking 3x a week according to their plan, and they promise to have me running 3.1 miles within 9 weeks. Think I can do it?

What do you do when you have a really crappy food day? How do you get back on track?

When you’re having a crappy day, what helps you reset your mind? Jogging? Yoga? A nap? Other?

This entry was posted in eat, fail, run. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Re-Focus.

  1. Kath (Eating for Living) says:

    What you've desribed reminds me of the way I've felt for the past years (basically on a constant sugar high that needed to be fueled every hour, and otherwise changing conditions every 10 minutes). This didn't change until I've tried this:- eating more protein- eating more fat- tossing all simple carbs (this included no sugary sweets, no white flour products, and reducing fruit consumption)More I often forget to eat at all, because I don't have that constant hunger anymore. I honestly didn't believe this was possible, but it is, as well as it's possible to learn natural hunger and satiety again within a few months.

  2. Christine says:

    I've been adding the protein, and it really helps keep me filled up. But I can't imagine dropping sweets. How do you satisfy your sweet tooth?

  3. TheDearmanFamily says:

    Considering the reason I am on the internet is to look for a recipe for cookies I am not a good resource on your sweet tooth question.I only buy food that I feel good about eating but that doesn't stop me from baking sweets and then eating it all by myself.When I was pregnant, a spoonful of honey was enough to satisfy the urge for sweets but now I am back on my sweet carbs.

Leave a Reply

