Healthy(er) Baking

I love cinnamon scones. Unreasonably so. It took me eighteen months to return to pre-pregnancy weight after having my first baby. Eighteen Months! Cinnamon scones are 92.8% to blame for that. My favorite are the cinnamon scones from Let’s Dish. They are frozen, and to prepare them you just cut them into 4 or 8 triangles and bake in the oven. They have little cinnamon chips in them, heaven, I’m telling you.

Today, I thought it would be fun to try making my own cinnamon scones.
I found a recipe on the Food Network that was highly rated and looked simple. Thanks to my new policy of keeping a well-stocked refrigerator and pantry, I had all of the ingredients on hand. (<– wait, I don’t think the intention here was to enable myself to make scones at a moment’s notice!!!)

As I looked through the recipe, I almost keeled over when I saw it took 1 cup of butter. I asked Husband how many sticks he figured that was, and he said one stick. I thought that sounded about right. Took out a stick of butter, and on it read 8 TBSP = 1/2 cup. Holy crap. One stick of butter is only 1/2 a cup. This recipe, which is supposed to make 12 scones, takes TWO STICKS of butter.  No wonder it took me eighteen months to lose my pregnancy weight!!!

I decided to look into butter substitutes, since there was no way I was going to make something with two sticks of butter. A little rendezvous with Teh Googs, and I had two ideas — applesauce or extra virgin coconut oil. I’ve been trying to use more coconut oil, so I decided to give that a shot.

Instead of two sticks of butter, I used one stick butter and 8 TBSP coconut oil. If you’ve never used coconut oil, it comes in a jar and is in solid form. The coconut oil was mushy and I immediately started to question my decision. I was supposed to cut the “butter” in, but the coconut was just smooshing around. Finally, I gave up on making it the consistency I wanted and decided to just go ahead and bake it.

Having never made scones before, I couldn’t be sure, but it was feeling like a major FAIL at this point. Well, I’d never know unless I baked them, so I threw them in the oven, set the timer for 15 minutes, and held my breath.

The end result?

They are not the consistency of scones I am used to. They are yummy cinnamon cakes. But with every bite, I can say, these scones have half the butter of regular scones. Hey, every little bit counts!!!
What are your tips for healthier baking? Do you substitute ingredients? Want to share a favorite recipe?
This entry was posted in eat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healthy(er) Baking

  1. Cotton says:

    I've used applesauce as a butter substitute in baking. It results in a fluffy texture but you still need some butter if you want that butter flavor.

  2. Michele says:

    never used coconut oil. what else can u use it 4?

  3. loopdiloop says:

    Those look soooo good! I usually just use butter so I try not to bake too often!

  4. Christine says:

    Michele, you can use coconut oil for so many things. You can use it as a moisturizer for your skin, as a diaper rash cream, and of course for cooking. I love to put some in my cooked rice or quinoa. I've had people suggest putting it in your hair, but have never tried.

  5. Annalivia says:

    Go you! See? its not so bad! and those look awesome. now i am hungry.I substitute stuff all the time. fauxtatoes are one of the best substitutions out there. but my concern is getting rid of the sugar. my freakout would not have been about the butter :)you know how to find me if you want to talk about cooking, you know im always up for it.

  6. Aspiring Earth Mama says:

    coconut oil is amazing…a staple in my house. Looks good!

Leave a Reply

