Anatomy of a Child’s Stomach

Each night, my son gets a “treat” if he eats a good dinner. A treat is basically a small dessert, like a cookie, a piece of candy, or pudding. I’ve heard that as a parent, you need to be careful about using food — especially sweets — as a reward, because you can create “food issues” down the road. I try to be cognizant of this, but nothing motivates my son like the thought of not getting his treat after dinner. And when you see your kid wolfing down a plate of broccoli or taking a bite of a food they’ve never tried before, well, that’s a great feeling.

My son isn’t required to eat everything on his plate. We just ask that he eat a good dinner and we keep the definition of that sort-of vague, because it varies from day to day. Some days he is hungrier than others, and some meals he likes more than others, so each day we agree on what constitutes a “good dinner.”  Usually about halfway through his meal, he’ll start negotiating with us about how much more he needs to eat to earn his treat. I just try to make sure he eats a few vegetables, a few ounces of meat, and that he at least tastes anything new we’ve given him. 
Our method seems to be working, because our son is a great eater. He eats vegetables, especially broccoli, peas, and beans. He despises spinach, but he knows this because he tasted it. So, I don’t make him eat spinach. There are plenty of wonderful vegetables he does like, so we focus on those. I’ll try spinach on him again some day and see if his palate has changed at all. He eats all sorts of meat — meatballs, chicken breast, rotisserie chicken, pork chops, pot roast. When we give him something new, he’s always convinced it will be horrible, but after tasting it, he usually discovers that it’s yummy. I never could have convinced him to try new things if it weren’t for the promise of “the treat.” 
Last night was one of those rare nights where he really didn’t want to eat. He was having leftover tacos, which he had devoured the night before. Maybe he’d had a big lunch. Maybe the tacos didn’t taste as good the second time. I’m not sure, but he just wouldn’t eat. So, no treat. He was pretty upset about not getting his treat, but when he saw that his pleading was going nowhere, he changed his approach. “How about a snack then?” he asked. A snack? Sure, why not. So, we went to watch some TV together and he munched on sliced carrot sticks. I can’t complaint about that.
My husband shared this with me on Facebook today, and it is so timely.  I wish I knew who to credit for this, but I can’t read the artist’s name. But it’s brilliant nonetheless.



Questions for YOU!
Do you have any great suggestions on how to get kids to try new foods? To eat their vegetables? What is your rule at the dinner table? Do your kids get dessert every night, only when they eat well, or just on rare occasions?

This entry was posted in children, eat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anatomy of a Child’s Stomach

  1. raisingbrainchild says:

    Our basic rule is "eat what is served." That doesn't mean, "eat all of what is served" or even "eat some of what is served." DD can eat it or not. She has food allergies that complicate things so she doesn<t get a lot of traditional desserts, but she gets a ton of fruit. She's little still, though, so I imagine that the real food battles are yet to come! Not to mention, DH and I are such bad examples. After she goes to bed, we break out the chocolate, ice cream, etc. I have a feeling that our days of getting away with this are going to come to an end very soon, because DD can't have most of that stuff due to her allergies. Anyway, I can only hope my DD is as willing to eat her vegetables someday as your son. Right now, it's hit or miss!

  2. TheDearmanFamily says:

    We eat a lot of vegetables as snacks at our house. It also helps that he likes mustard so he likes to dip veggies into mustard for fun. I can count on my son trying a new vegetable, as long as it is raw. He eats the most vegetables when I am cooking supper and he is hanging out with my in the kitchen. Also, he will eat whatever he is given in the stroller when we are walking. It's almost freaky sometimes.He doesn't know the concept of dessert and I like it like that.

  3. Christine says:

    Raisingbrainchild, it gets a lot harder to hide treats from your kids as they get older, especially after they start school. My son used to think grapes were dessert. Now he knows better. :-/Dearman, raw veggies are huge at snacktime here, too. J-Man loves cauliflower and carrots. He won't dip, though. That's cute that your kid likes mustard. That seems like an adult taste!

Leave a Reply

