San Francisco and Vegan Deliciousness

Last week, I was on business travel in San Francisco. I love traveling out there, even though I don’t get nearly enough time to enjoy the city. I have certain things I need to do while I’m out there, such as eat dim sum and get a coffee (or, at least two a day) at Blue Bottle.

My co-worker Mel and I are slightly obsessed with Blue Bottle. We arrive at the conference and immediately start scouring the agenda for gaps where we can escape for an hour. I am so impressed with us, we managed to get there three times last week and also introduced two people to Blue Bottle. Success!!!  

As for dim sum, I went to Tian Sing for the third time. It’s not the very best, but it’s quite good and only a few blocks from the hotel. With pictures like this on the menu, I decided to stick to the pescatarian options.

The “salt and pepper tofu” was absolutely outstanding, as were the various dumplings. Oh, and the chinese broccoli. I couldn’t stop eating this stuff:

My other excitement in San Francisco was shopping. Unfortunately, no, I don’t mean that I hit up the trendy shops in Haight Ashbury. No, no, I went around the corner from the hotel and shopped at Old Navy and Banana Republic. In good news, I unexpectedly dropped a pants size. So I got me some skinny jeans. Boom shakalaka.

Back home, it’s time to get back to basics — eat well and exercise. Starting with what goes in, we hit up the grocery store today. The biggest thing is, I need to bring good eats to the office for lunch. No more spending extravagant amounts of money on crappy fast food. So tonight, I put on my inner chef’s hat and slaved over threw together two beautiful vegan meals — Angela’s Butternut Squash Mac ‘n’ Cheeze and Mama Pea’s Teriyaki Tofu. For dinner I had a little of each, and I couldn’t believe how delicious they were. The mac ‘n’ cheeze was surprisingly cheesy tasting. It definitely had the comfort food cheese factor. The teriyaki tofu was also delicious, and I felt all Martha Stewarty making my own teriyaki sauce.

So back to life, back to reality. Back to the gym.

This entry was posted in eat, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to San Francisco and Vegan Deliciousness

  1. Hannah says:

    You could say you’ve introduced me to Blue Bottle too! :P I hope to get back to San Fran next time I’m in the States; I didn’t fall in love the way I expected the first time, so clearly need to return! :P

  2. Alyse says:

    Mmm Blue Bottle is the best! I also love Philz, and Four Barrel… really, there’s no shortage of good coffee in SF :)

  3. Yeeeaaaahhh skinny jeans! I’m searching for a new pair because I think I finally am willing to attempt them with heels/flats. The pair I currently have are too long and bunch at the bottom, so I can only cleverly disguise this issue with boots…

    • I think skinny jeans look super cute with flats. I have a pair of silver DKNY Sport flats that look so awesome with skinnies. But yeah, you need ankle length. I buy mine at Land’s End because I can choose the inseam.

  4. Holy crap that picture on the menu scares me as well. And congrats on the change in pant size =) !!

  5. I’ve been to San Francisco once 15 years ago, and I loved it so much that I cried when we left! I wanto to go back! And join in for a coffee at Blue Bottle or a dim sum evening! :D

  6. Wait, did you tell us how your juice cleanse ended? I could never do that. Crazy talk.

    I adore San Fran, but I’ve only done the “traditional” shopping, not Chinatown or any of the other “local” shops. I definitely need to schedule a trip back there!

  7. missymiller says:

    is it just me or is broccolli somehow ALWAYS better in a chinese/asian restaurant. i mean….what gives? do they coat it in special endorphins or something?

    don’t get me wrong — my broccolli at home tastes awesome but still…there really is nothing like some great steamed brocc from an asian restaurant.

    or its just me.

Leave a Reply

