down the drain.

For the last three days, I’ve been doing a juice cleanse. I’ll tell you *all about it* tomorrow. For now, I want to go to bed soon so that I can stop thinking about food.

Unable to eat any food, last evening I decided it was a good time to cook. Not just to cook, but to cook delicious smelling food. CRAZY. So, I busted out my Peas & Thank You cookbook and whipped up Mama Pea’s Spicy African Peanut Soup. It was really easy to make. Chop up a sweet potato, toss it in the slow cooker with cans of chickpeas, fire roasted tomatoes, coconut milk, lentils, pb, and some spices. Turn it on for 3-4 hours and voila!

While this was cooking, my house smelledĀ divine. This was absolute torture for me in my cleansing mode.

So at 10:30 PM the soup was finished… and it hit me. The soup was boiling hot. It would take too long to cool down enough to refrigerate it. What was I supposed to do with it? I decided to leave it on the counter, since every night I get up to peeĀ at least twice.

I didn’t wake up until 6:30 AM this morning. Eight hours later. The soup had been on the counter for eight hours.

Eight Hours!!!

I am so depressed. It smelled so delicious. I was really looking forward to eating it tomorrow once solid foods are allowed back in my life. Not to mention the fact that it probably cost over $10 to prepare.

Down…

The…

Drain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to down the drain.

  1. Hannah says:

    I am, of course, devastated at the loss of the soup, but at the same time deliriously happy to have found someone else who always gets up several times at night for the bathroom. I like to think of myself as having a dainty bladder… although maybe this is just because of your juice fast.

    Darnit.

  2. missymiller says:

    I usually leave my soups out overnight to cool when I make them at night!
    Uh – oh….am I dong something wrong?

    Anywhoo– the whole debacle is pure …. you have to laugh. Or Cry.
    Can’t wait to hear more about your fast.

  3. Is it bad that I may have kept it anyway?

    Don’t answer that…

  4. I am SO sorry – that is the worst! I’m totally inspired to make that soup now – I adore that cookbook!

  5. Does a soup go bad when it stays outside the fridge for a couple of hours? Okay, I don’t how warm and humid it is at your place right now, but over here, I usually don’t have a problem to leave foods on the counter overnight. I also have my pot with almond milk on the counter all day (I make it in the morning and then drink it throughout the day, so it’s on the counter for at least 8 hours), and it never goes bad, except in summer.

    So sorry for the soup!

    I’ve once tried to do something like that – just liquid foods, not even juices but smoothies. I lasted until dinner, and then I was so starved that I needed something solid. :D I think you can detox with the right solid foods as well, or do a middle thing with drinking all day and then having a light but solid dinner. And I’d always include a soup into the category of liquid foods, so it’s not a break of the fast! :P

  6. Hahah – totally something I would do. The funny thing is I’d probably wake up and E would already be eating the 8 hour old soup. At least you eat some solid food today!

  7. lindsay says:

    oh no!! you need a crock pot for that. low setting. next time!!

Leave a Reply

