Me? Room Mom?

This Is {Wherever} Wednesday

PhotobucketDo you read Budget Blonde? The Budget Blonde, Cat, is into organization and craftiness, and I just love her blog. Last year, she moved with her husband to Grenada (if you don’t have an atlas nearby, Grenada is in the Caribbean just north of Venezuela. :-) Inyhoo, Cat has a series on her blog called “This Is {Wherever} Wednesday” where she shares something interesting about living in Grenada and offers her readers the chance to share something interesting about where you live! So this week, I am happy to link up and share my recent post, “I Live Here, I Should Visit,” all about living in Washington, D.C. Link up, yourself!

Kindergarten Craziness

Somehow, I ended up being J’s kindergarten “room mom.” I was picking J up from school one day and his teacher ran out after us and asked me if I would agree to be room mom. Of course, in my typical fashion, I answered with a question. “What do I have to do?” Forgive me. I’m a working mom. I’m also terrible at organizing and planning. Terrible. Thankfully, it’s more of an honorary title than anything. My only responsibility is to throw two parties during the year, a Valentine’s party and an end-of-year party. Unless you live under a rock, you know that Valentine’s day was this week, meaning the first of my two obligations is officially finito! And if I do say so myself, I managed to pull off a pretty fun time! There was “pin the heart on the bear”…

Like my fancy artwork?

Cookie decoration (with lots of toppings!)…

Tissue paper flowers (which was a disaster, therefore no photos!)…

and L-O-V-E-<3 Bingo!

It was a wonderful party. The kids had such a great time. And, I admit, I had two other moms there with me who I couldn’t have done without!

Fooooooood!!!!

If you follow me on Pinterest, you may have noticed that I’ve been posting a lot of food and recipes lately. You see, I’m on day 2 of a 3-day juice cleanse. I’ll blog all about the experience once it’s over but suffice it to say, I am obsessed with the very idea of food right now. Just on Monday, I was a perfectly happy food-eating person, out to a dushi lunch with two wonderful friends. Wait, you say, don’t you mean sushi? Check out Box F. Haha!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me? Room Mom?

  1. I’m interested to read about your juice cleanse. I have never done when but I am more than sure I’d be dreaming about food if all I had was juice haha. Oh and those V-day activities look so cute – good job!

  2. Love all the decorations on that cookie, LOL! Cute!

  3. Haha, better don’t check out sushi menus while on a juice cleanse! :D Can’t wait to hear what you’ll tell about it!

  4. missymiller says:

    yup… i know all about that food on the brain scenario…lol.

    ps- you just made a memory for J….SO worth it.

    Were the supplies for that party tax-deductible? lol…

Leave a Reply

